Faded Glory Hero

 

                        But each one is tempted when by his own evil desires he is lured away and enticed.  Then after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is fully grown, gives birth to death.  James 1:14-15

Related image

   Faded Glory Hero

      “Love your neighbor”, the words, they mock,

Chiseled on heart as well as rock.

But your neighbor did not love you.

Impatience breeds ugly hues

Of colors dyed on daily life.

A pallet of blue and of gold strife.

Young son freed to be driven, trapped

In frustration’s spidery grasp.

I saw the lies that brought trespass.

He was so crass, devil-harassed!

This angry demon of rebellion

Birthed within this deceived hellion.

I saw you man, small in stature.

I saw you in yesterday’s tour.

I saw that gob upon your greys.

A proud seal of your glory days.

I saw those feelings on your face.

The pain of disrespected grace.

Etched in hard with the devil’s stroke.

Your furrowed leathered feature’s spoke.

I saw you, Oh, Zaccheus man.

I saw you waver in your stand.

I saw you flash indecision.

Final surrender, you envisioned?

I saw it all.  I saw the slap.

You punched the air with palmed clap.

I saw your pain and your struggle.

The falsehoods in your brain juggled.

You once, our country defended.

For you, the fight has not yet ended.

But hearts forged in the fires of war

Shine bright and hot down to the core.

So man, I saw “you”, and I prayed

I prayed your heart would not be swayed.

I prayed for you encouragement,

and perseverance, and content.

For that other, I prayed God’s peace,

And from this frantic world, release.

You don’t see, faded glory man,

That tall in my eyes you do stand.

Amy

(C)

11/5/2018

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us. 19 For the anxious longing of the creation waits eagerly for the revealing of the sons of God. 20 For the creation was subjected to futility (frustration), not willingly, but because of Him who subjected it, in hope 21 that the creation itself also will be set free from its slavery to corruption into the freedom of the glory of the children of God. 22 For we know that the whole creation groans and suffers the pains of childbirth together until now. 23 And not only this, but also we ourselves, having the first fruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our body. 24 For in hope we have been saved…Romans 8:18-25

I witnessed an altercation yesterday in a parking lot.  A big heavy duty truck was behind a little tiny car.  The car was waiting for another car to pull out of a parking space.  The little car just happened to be in the way of the big truck.   The big truck kept laying on the horn, but the little car did not move until the parking space was clear.   It was as the big trucked passed me that I saw the angry young glare of a stressed young man.  It was also then that I noticed the car’s sole occupant emerge.  It was a very short man with a military hat perched upon his head.  I am sure that if the young man would have seen who it was he was honking at, he wouldn’t have.

Jesus, forgive us our impatience.  Forgive us because we just don’t know any better.   Bless our military…especially this wee little man who is probably a bigger badass than anyone else I know.  And bless the angry young entitled man, and deliver him from his impatience.  And deliver us, too, Lord, when we become impatient.  Help us to remember that ahead of us might be a faded glory hero who deserves our respect.  I pray this in Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 20 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem Jesus was born of a virgin (for you), lived a blameless perfect life (for you) in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for (you) the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again (for you). YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment