Living, No! Thriving with Sarcoidosis

For he does not willingly bring affliction or grief to anyone.

keep calm weak strong

The LORD will strike you with wasting disease, with fever and inflammation, with scorching heat and drought, with blight and mildew, which will plague you until you perish.

From WebMD:

What Is Sarcoidosis?

Sarcoidosis is a chronic disease that affects multiple systems in the body, from the eyes to the lungs to the brain. It is characterized by the buildup of immune system cells in organs that form small clusters called granulomas, a type of inflammation of the involved tissues.

What Sarcoidosis Is Not?

Sarcoidosis is not cancer; nor is it contagious. Although it can occur in families, it is not inherited. Usually the disease is not disabling; most people with sarcoidosis live normal lives. In fact, in the majority of cases, the disease appears only briefly and disappears on its own. About 20% to 30% of people with sarcoidosis are left with some permanent lung damage, and in 10% to 15% of patients the disease is chronic. Although it is rare, death from sarcoidosis can occur if the disease causes serious damage to vital organs, such as the brain, lungs, or heart.


For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.

I have Sarcoidosis.

So then, those who suffer according to God’s will should commit themselves to their faithful Creator and continue to do good.

I was diagnosed with it in 2010 after several months of a tickle in my throat leading to dry cough.  That led to outbursts of violent cough with “projectile phlegming” (my coined phrase.)  I was experiencing several other symptoms, and felt like my body was literally falling apart.

…We also rejoice in our sufferings because we know that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance, character; and character, hope.

Last week I attended a Golden Wedding Anniversary for my Aunt and Uncle and struck up a conversation with their son, my cousin.  He has had cancer several times in his relatively short life…he is 40-something…and, though believes in God, questioned why God put him through an experience that took him to the point of even wanting to give up his own life.  He said that if not for his new born son, he would have just given up.

We were burdened excessively, beyond our strength, so that we despaired even of life.

I reminded him that we have a God who died for us.  He agreed and then asked me what the scar was on my sternum.  I told him I had sarcoidosis, and when he asked what that was I told him that it is a disease that mimics cancer, but it is really an overprotective immune system.   I then told him that I rarely get colds and such.   He laughed and said that if I was to have any disease that would be the disease to have.

What I failed to tell him was “I rarely get ill EXCEPT for the sarcoidosis symptoms.”


 What Are The Symptoms Of Sarcoidosis?

The symptoms of sarcoidosis can vary greatly, depending on which organs are involved. Most patients initially complain of a persistent dry cough, fatigue, and shortness of breath. Other symptoms may include:

  • Tender, reddish bumps or patches on the skin.
  • painful tumors clusters called granulomas found at nerve endings throughout the body
  • lumpy breasts
  • Red and teary eyes or blurred vision.
  • Swollen and painful joints.
  • Enlarged and tender lymph glands in the neck, armpits, and groin.
  • Enlarged lymph glands in the chest and around the lungs.
  • Hoarse voice.
  • Excessive phlegm.
  • Pain in the hands, feet, or other bony areas due to the formation of cysts (an abnormal sac-like growth) in bones.
  • Phantom Skin afflictions like the feeling of crawling bugs.
  • Kidney stone formation.
  • Enlarged liver.
  • Development of abnormal or missed heart beats (arrhythmias), inflammation of the covering of the heart (pericarditis), or heart failure.
  • Nervous system effects, including hearing loss, meningitis, seizures, or psychiatric disorders (for example, dementia, depression, psychosis).

I have almost all of them.

indeed, we had the sentence of death within ourselves so that we would not trust in ourselves, but in God who raises the dead…

I could easily give over to despair but I do not because just as God said to the apostle Paul (my cousin’s name, also, by the way) about the thorn in his side, He says to me

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.

Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

I thrive boast in my weakness because Christ thrived boasted in his.

For to be sure, he was crucified in weakness, yet he lives by God’s power. Likewise, we are weak in him, yet by God’s power we will live with him….

(Thrive by Casting Crowns)

Jesus, You strike us with affliction so that we may learn to rely on your power and not on our own perceived power of which we really don’t have any.  If we look at the big picture affliction is a true gift from you and one to be thankful for.  If not for the afflictions of a cursed world we would be even more prideful and boastful of life as if life is ours to do with what we want.  But it is not.  All life belongs to you and was made according to Your great plan and purpose of salvation.  To bring all things under Christ.   I thank you for Jesus’ life, suffering, and horrible bloody death on a cross so that I and all who believe in Him may have eternal life.  Redeemed from the curse announced in the Garden after the rebellion.  Thank you, Jesus.  Grant us patient suffering.  In His name, Amen.




About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

