What do Prize Morel Mushrooms Have to do With Heaven?

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

morelAnyone who prizes loves Morel mushrooms knows the answer to that question!

morel2But there’s an answer that goes deeper still down into the heart of the inner man.

 Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us

I happen to be one of those Morel mushroom lovers.  My husband not so much, but he loves me and will accompany me on our hunting excursions.

Husbands love your wives as Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her

The other day we went hunting in a woods behind some busy baseball diamonds, and as he lollygagged we foraged for those prize morels (we didn’t find a stinking one!) I noticed how sometimes I would walk ahead of my husband and sometimes he would walk ahead of me.

The race is not to the swift

I couldn’t help notice the parallel between this moment in time and our journey to heaven.

My soul pants for you, my God

So I mentioned it to him.

It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper

I said, “You know, this is how it will be when one of us dies and the other one is left.  Unless, of course, God calls both of us home at the same time.

And as it is appointed for men to die once, but after this the judgment

He listened intently and I could tell he was thinking about it, so I went on, “If I die first you will know that I’ll be there at the end of the finish line waving you home crying, Come on! Come on!  You can do it!  You can make it home!  If you die first, I’ll know that you’re doing the same thing for me!”

finish line ahead sign

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses

By this time we were heading back to our car and as we neared it we could hear The Spirit of the Living God/my Heavenly Father a baseball coach in the near distance encouraging one of his runners team members, “Come on home! Come on home!  Come on home!”

Fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him ran the race endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God

My  husband and I looked at each other and just smiled.

Jesus, Your victory is ours!  Thank You for winning the race! Grant every one reading this blog, according to the riches of Your glory, to be strengthened with might by Your Spirit in the inner man to run and finish their race.  Amen!

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do Prize Morel Mushrooms Have to do With Heaven?

Leave a Reply

