Remember Who?

I remember how years ago I used to love the heavy metal band “Queensryche.

trirycheI  confess, I still do.

One of my favorite songs to remember  is “I Will Remember.”                                                     Geoff Tate  squealing fans 2  sings its lyrics beautifully, spiritually… hauntingly.

“I will remember
You will remember
The star that came tonight
Oh can’t you see the light
Of the knowing star”

 I love those lyrics!

Remember your Creator when you are young, before the days of trouble come and the years catch up with you.

Don't ForgetI am getting older now, and the saddest thing in the world that I can think of is for someone to die and to not be remembered be forgotten.

As for man, his days are like grass; As a flower of the field, so he flourishes. When the wind has passed over it, it is no more, And its place remembers it no longer.

I remember reading  two online articles this past week about people desiring to be remembered.  The first one was about a man who killed 150 people.  One of the supposed reasons he did it was because he wanted his name to be remembered.  The other was about a tunnel used in WWI where soldiers would write their names and messages on walls so that they would be remembered… WWI

Remember me, O LORD.

I remember the words of the thief on the cross:

Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.”

As a matter of fact, if I remember right, several Biblical persons cried out for the Lord to remember them.  Samson, Jeremiah, Zechariah, Nehemiah, Hannah, Job and David, just to name a few, have been recorded as crying out to God.

Do not remember the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you, LORD, are good.

There is something deep within every human being that ravenously desires to be remembered.  Could it be because we know that we remember we are going to die?

  The wages of sin is death but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ.

I’ve changed my mind.  I think the saddest thing in the world is for someone to die unknown by the only Person who can remember them…

Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?’ “And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; DEPART FROM ME, YOU WHO PRACTICE LAWLESSNESS.'”

…and for  their sins to be remembered.

The Son of Man will send out his angels, and they will weed out of his kingdom everything that causes sin and all who do evil

…Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels’…

…there will be weeping there, and gnashing of teeth, when you see Abraham, Isaac and Jacob and all the prophets in the kingdom of God, but you yourselves thrown out.

But we believers have this promise.  God never forgets those He chooses and calls His.

Remember, I am with you and will watch over you wherever you go…I will never leave you nor abandon forsake you…You are my servant, Israel. I formed you; you are my servant. Israel,  I will not forget you.

And more importantly…

I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.

cross,crown,redclothHere is a Psalm that King David and I love to remember about Jesus.

Psalm 63

And although I don’t think this song by Amy Grant was meant to be particularly “spiritual”in nature I can still hear Jesus rejoicing over me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEmUixHDwd4

The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.

Jesus, remember me, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

