From Someone Whose Been “There”.

“As for you, be fruitful and multiply; Populate the earth abundantly and multiply in it.”

There?

Where is “there”?

“There” is in this world as a woman.

womanstressFeeling the pressure to achieve and work and climb and succeed.  Feeling the stress of sleepless nights of angst and anxiety, depression and darkness.  Feeling the empty void and deep pit of a world trying to pull at me, tug at me, swallow me, lure me into its lies…

Whoever loves money never has enough; whoever loves wealth is never satisfied with their income.

and its vanities…

The eye never has enough of seeing, nor the ear its fill of hearing.

and its meaninglessness.

“For whom am I toiling,”….. “and why am I depriving myself of enjoyment?” This too is meaningless— a miserable business!

A world that promises me that if I read just one more book, take one more pill, earn one more degree, work one more job, sleep with one more man, make one more dollar, spend one more dollar, lose one more pound…

__?__one more __?__

….that everything will be okay.

A world that tells me a better house, a better car, a better job,  a better body…will make it all better.

I’ve been there.

I’ve went to college.  I married a politician.  I owned my own business.  I had a son.  I had to have better…everything!  I tried it all!

Please believe me when I tell you that all that striving really didn’t matter.

Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun.

If I had to do it all over again this is what I would have done.  I wouldn’t have worried about college.  I wouldn’t have worried about a career.  I wouldn’t have worried about keeping up with Jones’.

He settles the childless woman in her home as a happy mother of children. Praise the LORD.

I would have married earlier and had many more children. 

No matter what.

Isn’t that what being a happy Mother is all about anyways?

I have yet to hear any Mom say she had wished that she had worked more outside the home.  But I do run into many women, especially nowadays…post feminist-movement casualties…who say that all they want to do is stay home and raise their children.

All they ever really wanted to do was stay home and raise children.

Then why don’t they listen to their heart?

Then why don’t they?

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

Let me make something clear.  I’m not telling you what you should do.  I’m not judging you no matter what your history.  I’m just a middle aged woman who’s been “there” telling you what I would do if I could do it all over again.

Who knows where I “would be” “could be” right now if I had listened to the quiet voice of wisdom rather than the pressure of the world.

But even now, I carry a peace about everything that has happened in my past.  I wouldn’t be who I am now without all that I’ve been through.  I am a retired catered, a wife, a Mom to one wonderful young man, but most importantly I am  a Child of God.

I’ve learned to be content in whatever situation I’m in.  I know how to live in poverty or prosperity.  No matter what the situation,  I’ve learned the secret of how to live when I’m full or when I’m hungry, when I have too much or when I have too little.  I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me.

Jesus, I’ve made many mistakes in my life.  Thank you that your life, death on a cross, and rising again is the sacrifice needed to pay for my sins.  Thank you for my life, all of its pressures, mistakes, foibles, failures, and successes.  You used all of them to draw me to You.  I count my faith of 14 years, my marriage of 28 years and my 19 year old son among my greatest blessings.  I pray for a new movement in America back to the way You meant it to be.  Mothers settled in their homes watching over broods of children. You love Motherhood and you love life!  In Your name, Jesus.  Amen

 

 

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

