50 Shades of Grey…Hair?

Even when you’re old, I’ll take care of you. Even when your hair turns gray, I’ll support you. I made you and will continue to care for you. I’ll support you and save you.

I grow my hair long.  I love long hair on women.

“Haven’t you read,” he replied, “that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female?'”  -Jesus

It is such a beautiful feminine icon.

Doesn’t it (nature) teach you that it is a woman’s pride to wear her hair long?  Her hair is given to her in place of a covering.

I was combing my hair this morning.  It is long, thick, and deep brown with beautiful highlights of copper here and there when it catches the sunlight just right.

At least… it used to.  Before time took its toll.

Growing Old

Now, where it once was luxurious and shiny, there are “highlights” of different “50 shades of grey” in long streaks that resemble a skunk or… the Bride of Frankenstein! LOL…

brideoffrankenstein

As I blog about my grey hair I hesitated to use that title.  You know that one…”50 Shades of Grey”?

reject every kind of evil.

As a follower and disciple of Jesus Christ my grey hair stands on end even when I mention or think of that title.

nailsscratchingchalkboardI know it is from the enemy…every unholy word and idea.

The devil was a murderer from the beginning. He has never been truthful. He doesn’t know what the truth is. Whenever he tells a lie, he’s doing what comes naturally to him. He’s a liar and the father of lies.

So why did I use it?  Simple…I knew it would produce lots of hits.

“I am sending you out like sheep surrounded by wolves, so be wise as serpents and innocent as doves.

So why do people (and a lot of Christians) find this book and movie fascinating enough to spend their hard earned money on it?

Now, the effects of the corrupt nature are obvious: illicit sex, perversion, promiscuity, idolatry, drug use, hatred, rivalry, jealousy, angry outbursts, selfish ambition, conflict, factions, envy, drunkenness, wild partying, and similar things. I’ve told you in the past and I’m telling you again that people who do these kinds of things will not inherit the kingdom of God.
Paul summed it up best when he wrote what the Christian experience is:
I know that nothing good lives in me; that is, nothing good lives in my corrupt nature. Although I have the desire to do what is right, I don’t do it. I don’t do the good I want to do. Instead, I do the evil that I don’t want to doNow, when I do what I don’t want to do, I am no longer the one who is doing it. Sin that lives in me is doing it.  So I’ve discovered this truth: Evil is present with me even when I want to do what God’s standards say is good.  I take pleasure in God’s standards in my inner being.  However, I see a different standard [at work] throughout my body. It is at war with the standards my mind sets and tries to take me captive to sin’s standards which still exist throughout my body.
Paul cried out:
What a miserable person I am! Who will rescue me from my dying body?
Praise God!  The Holy Spirit through Paul gave us the answer:
I thank God that our Lord Jesus Christ rescues me! So I am obedient to God’s standards with my mind, but I am obedient to sin’s standards with my corrupt nature.
This scripture comes to mind:
What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin so that grace may increase?  May it never be!  How shall we who died to sin still live in it?
What are we to do if we have done something we are ashamed of?
My dear children, I am writing this to you so that you will not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate who pleads our case before the Father. He is Jesus Christ, the one who is truly righteous.
Jesus knows what it is to grow older in a fallen world.  He knows the struggles we have.  He knows the grey hairs, sleepless nights, tossing and turning, and wrestling with our sin
God’s word is living and active.  It is sharper than any two-edged sword and cuts as deep as the place where soul and spirit meet, the place where joints and marrow meet. God’s word judges a person’s thoughts and intentions.  No creature can hide from God.  Everything is uncovered and exposed for him to see. We must answer to him.  We need to hold on to our declaration of faith: We have a superior chief priest who has gone through the heavens. That person is Jesus, the Son of God.    We have a chief priest who is able to sympathize with our weaknesses. He was tempted in every way that we are, but he didn’t sin.
And because of Jesus and Jesus alone:
…we can go confidently to the throne of God’s kindness to receive mercy and find kindness, which will help us at the right time.
So even though I have 50 Shades of Grey….hair I can look in the mirror and know that in God’s eyes  my 50 shades of
Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained in the way of righteousness.
Speaking of grey hair this is what I think of when I think on my future and the future of every Christian:
“As I looked, “thrones were set in place, and the Ancient of Days took his seat. His clothing was as white as snow; the hair of his head was white like wool.
There will be NO 50 Shades of Grey…hair in Heaven!  Thank God!

Heavenly Father, In your Word you remind us of our sin in this way,  “What benefit did you reap at that time from the things you are now ashamed of?  Those things result in death!”  But even now you offer us your Son, “For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.  May all who read my blog receive this precious gift before their grey hair is no more.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Do not fear the one who can kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Instead, fear the one who can destroy both body and soul in hell.
“Aren’t two sparrows sold for a penny? Not one of them will fall to the ground without your Father’s permission.
Every hair on your head has been counted.
 Don’t be afraid! You are worth more than many sparrows.
 “So I will acknowledge in front of my Father in heaven that person who acknowledges me in front of others. But I will tell my Father in heaven that I don’t know the person who tells others that he doesn’t know me.                      -Jesus

 

 

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 50 Shades of Grey…Hair?

  1. Well-put, my friend. As usual. 🙂

  2. Jennifer Connelly says:

    Dearest. I enjoy your posts so much. And this one is no exception. However, please see the slight, but possibly important, typo within it: So why do people (and a lot of Christians) find this book and movie fascinating enough to spend their hard earned money on it?Now, the effects of the corrupt nature are obvious: illicit sex, perversion, promiscuity, idolatry, drug use, hatred, rivalry, jealousy, angry outbursts, selfish ambition, conflict, factions, envy, drunkenness, wild partying, and similar things. I’ve told you in the past and I’m telling you again that people who do these kinds of things will not inherit the kingdom of Go.

    Date: Mon, 23 Feb 2015 16:38:08 +0000 To: jscon@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

