The Parable of Milk and Honey or Are You Missing Out On Something?

Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that proceeds from the Father’s mouth.

My son and I started his Senior year homeschool adventure this past Tuesday, September 3rd.

Your word is a lamp for my feet and a light for my path.

This year is unlike any of the previous years in that I clearly heard the Lord tell me to

Seek first the kingdom of God and all these things will be added to you as well.

He told me to do this with my sons education as well as in every area of my life.   For some reason it was pretty easy for me to do so… God’s grace, I suppose.

When I woke up early Tuesday morning on the 3rd, I lay in bed praying and meditating on Jesus and this crazy idea popped into my head for my son’s first day of school.  The Holy Spirit said, “All I want you to do for his first lesson is feed him buttered toast, honey, and a big tall glass of really cold milk, and give him two scriptures and a famous prayer.”

honey toast and milk

I said, “Are you sure?  That’s all?  No lesson plan?  No reading the scriptures in depth as I had been planning?  Nothing?  Just feed him milk and honey and two simple scriptures and a prayer?”

“And teach him to savor them, Child.”

So that is what I did.  I call it “The Parable of Milk and Honey.”

Our scriptures were:

The LORD said to me, “Son of man, eat what you find. Eat this scroll. Then speak to the people of Israel.”  So I opened my mouth, and he gave me the scroll to eat.  He said to me, “Son of man, eat this scroll I’m giving you, and fill your stomach with it.” So I ate it, and it tasted as sweet as honey in my mouth.  He said to me, “Son of man, go to the people of Israel, and speak my words to them. Ezekiel 3:1-4

and

So he made you suffer from hunger and then fed you with manna, which neither you nor your ancestors had seen before. He did this to teach you that man does not  live on bread alone but on every word that proceeds from the Father’s mouth.  Deuteronomy 8:3

I love how God affirms us when we hear and obey because yesterday, too,  in our lessons we kept hearing that scripture over and over again:

Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that proceeds from the Father’s mouth.

This morning as I was praying over what to do, the Lord said to use that scripture as our verse for the week, so I wrote it out in red marker on a write on/wipe off board.

Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that proceeds from the Father’s mouth.

Three of my facebook friends posted this very same scripture this morning on their walls

Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that proceeds from the Father’s mouth.

When my son sat down this morning and took the leadership to lead us in prayer and devotions guess what our verse was in the devotion?  Yup!

Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that proceeds from the Father’s mouth.

I just want to say how blessed the first 3 days of school have been.  My son and I have been reading through the scriptures slowly and savoring them, and we have had some really in depth discussions.  I love the wisdom I see in my son’s heart.  He is almost 18 and this is probably one of the last opportunities I will ever have to make an impact on my son for the glory of Jesus Christ before he goes out on his own.  I know God will honor me and my son as I listen to Him and walk the path He has for us.

If you are not walking daily with Christ, you are missing out on something.  Something really big.  Something like life itself, freedom, too.  And if you don’t know Jesus or no one has ever introduced you to Him before may I be the first?  He was born of a virgin named Mary about 2, 000 years ago in Bethlehem.  He grew up in and around Nazareth, started His ministry near Jerusalem, lived a perfect life (only God could do that) was crucified for our sins on a cross outside of Jerusalem, was buried, and three days later he rose again from the dead.  40 days after that He ascended into heaven.  He is the Messiah promised to Adam and Eve after they sinned at the beginning of time (oh, about 6,000 years ago – NO! the world is NOT millions of years old and evolution is a big fat lie)

Oh, and that famous prayer that God wanted me to teach my son?  It is one of my favorites and I will end my blog with it:

Blessed Lord,  You have caused all scripture to be written for our learning:  Grant that we may hear them, read, mark, learn and inwardly digest them, that, by patience and the comfort of your Holy Word, we may embrace and ever hold fast the blessed hope of everlasting life, which you have given us in our Savior Jesus Christ, Amen. -Thomas Cranmer;  Book of Common Prayer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4jZOi7zmbY

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Parable of Milk and Honey or Are You Missing Out On Something?

  1. very much enjoyed this — thank you

    • lifevine says:

      You are very welcome, Jennifer. I haven’t had a chance to check my blog…been busy with WAR….but I’m so thrilled when I do get a chance to get on here and see that someone has responded. I’m going to share The Parable of the Mum this morning. You have a very blessed and glorious day in the Lord, and may He grant you peace of mind and heart today as you serve Him.

Leave a Reply

