I Can Pray

The smoke of the incense, together with the prayers of God’s people, went up before God from the angel’s hand. Revelation 8:4

simply prayer

I have received the two most beautiful compliments  in the last 2 weeks.  They are so very precious to me and I treasure them in my heart.

But she treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. Luke 2:9

The first one came from my Pastor.  He told me that “I have a special gift for prayer that he doesn’t have.”  The other one came from a Pastor friend of mine who told me that he was talking to someone, he wasn’t going to mention any names, and they had shared with him that they love when I pray.  They said that they get chills trembling whenever they hear me, and only one other person has ever made them feel that way and that was their Pastor when He preaches.

And his affection for you is all the greater when he remembers that you were all obedient, receiving him with fear and trembling. 2 Cor 7:15

I don’t share this with my readers to brag…well, I confess, in my flesh and sinful nature, of course I take false pride in any compliment given to me…but in the power of the Holy Spirit I am so very humbled and overcome that my heart breaks and I cry, see…

I know that it’s not me.

I specifically remember the day God, in His great grace, gave me the gift of prayer.  I was a new believer, and I was in wonder and awe, reading scripture, and I read this scripture…

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Eph 6:18

and…

Pray without ceasing. 1 Th 5:17

I remember feeling God’s power through His Word open The Spirit of Prayer something inside my heart to prayer, and I have been mostly aware of that openness ever since.

If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. 1 Peter 4:11

I tremble when I think of how much God’s Word had to work to tear down the strongholds in this former atheist’s mind that kept me from Jesus a life of prayer.

We demolish strongholds and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.     2  Cor 10:5

The only reason I have any kind of prayer life at all is because of the great love of Jesus Christ and the life He lived for my sin me, The death He died for  my sin me, and his resurrection when He rose for me.

We love because he first loved us. 1 John 4:9

The secret is to stay connected daily to the vine,

Blessed Lord, who caused all holy Scriptures to be written for our learning: Grant us so to hear them, read, mark, learn, and inwardly digest them, that we may embrace and ever hold fast the blessed hope of everlasting life, which you have given us in our Savior Jesus Christ; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.– Collect for Proper 28, BCP pg. 236

and to know that when I pray the Holy Spirit is empowering me to tap in to the mind of Christ

for, “Who has known the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ. 1 Cor 2:16

and sense that which He Himself would be praying.

Christ Jesus who died–more than that, who was raised to life–is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. Romans 8:34

I pray that my prayers would be according to His will, and would bring Him the most glory.

I am the vine, you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit.  Apart from me you can do nothing.  John 15:5

Especially pray.

Oh Heavenly Father, I pray that every breath you grant me will be used to pray and bring glory and honor to your Name alone.  And it is in Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Can Pray

  1. Jennifer Connelly says:

    Excellent! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

