Standing On Top of the World!

Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, for hiding these things from wise and intelligent people and revealing them to little children.  Yes, Father, this is what pleased you.   My Father has turned everything over to me. Only the Father knows the Son. And no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son is willing to reveal him.  Come to me, all who are tired from carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest.  Place my yoke over your shoulders, and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble. Then you will find rest for yourselves  because my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:25:30

My husband woke up this morning sighing and worrying, worrying and sighing.  This has become a daily occurrence since February.  Money, health… a doorbell ringing at 1:30 in the morning….The list goes on and on.

What a heavy burden God has laid on men!  Ecc 1:13

It always will on this side of fallen cursed dirt.

For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God. Romans 8:20-21

…and then there’s God.

‘Heaven is my throne, and the earth is my footstool.  Acts 7:49

The only hope we have is God’s word, and so I shared some things with my husband.

I can tell you confidently that the patriarch David died and was buried, and his tomb is here to this day. But he was a prophet and knew that God had promised him on oath that he would place one of his descendants on his throne. Seeing what was to come, he spoke of the resurrection of the Messiah, that he was not abandoned to the realm of the dead, nor did his body see decay.   God has raised this Jesus to life, and we are all witnesses of it.  Exalted to the right hand of God, he has received from the Father the promised Holy Spirit and has poured out what you now see and hear. For David did not ascend to heaven, and yet he said,

“‘The Lord said to my Lord:
“Sit at my right hand
 until I make your enemies
a footstool for your feet.”’

 “Therefore let all Israel be assured of this: God has made this Jesus, whom you crucified, both Lord and Messiah.”

 When the people heard this, they were cut to the heart and said to Peter and the other apostles, “Brothers, what shall we do?”

 Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off—for all whom the Lord our God will call.”

 With many other words he warned them; and he pleaded with them, “Save yourselves from this corrupt generation.” Those who accepted his message were baptized…Acts 2:29-41

I reminded my husband of his baptism…

We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life… Romans 6:4

I reminded him that we no longer belong to the enemy,  but we belong to Christ, to a powerful God who owns a cattle on a thousand hills…

….God’s power is like the working of his mighty strength,  which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms,  far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come.  And God placed all things under his feet…Ephesians 1:19-22

For some reason this song by The Carpenter’s came into my head, so I sang it to my hubby…

Who knows why that particular song popped into my head.  Karen Carpenter is one of my husband’s favorite singers.  He has always loved her smooth peaceful voice.  Maybe Jesus was meeting him where he was at???

in Christ you have been brought to fullness. He is the head over every power and authority.  In him you were also circumcised with a circumcision not performed by human hands. Your whole self ruled by the flesh was put off when you were circumcised by Christ, having been buried with him in baptism, in which you were also raised with him through your faith in the working of God, who raised him from the dead.  When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the charge of our legal indebtedness, which stood against us and condemned us; he has taken it away, nailing it to the cross. And having disarmed the powers and authorities, he made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.   Colossians 2:10-15

As I was finishing this blog this song came to mind…


Although I seriously doubt we will have wings in Heaven, maybe, just maybe,  Jesus is meeting me where I’m at?

And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus…Ephesians 2:6

Abba Father, when Satan would have us carry the weight of the world upon our shoulders let your Holy Spirit ALWAYS remind us that we have been raised with Christ and the world is, in all truth, at our feet.  Your love sets us free!  May we always believe it and not listen to the lies of Satan.  He comes to steal, kill, and destroy, but you, Jesus, came to give us life.   In Jesus’ powerful name, Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Standing On Top of the World!

  1. Lynda Goss says:

    Thanks again Amy for putting my focus always on the Word. I really think you should get your devotions published; they are very good.

    • lifevine says:

      Thanks for reading Lynda, and for the compliment. I really feel such a rightness when I am writing this blog. I love sharing how God takes my everyday life and forms a beginning and a middle and end with his word and where I am at at that moment, and then ties it up in a neat little bow. The Spirit of revelation is such an amazing gift for God’s children. I love walking with the Lord every day and telling others about Jesus. He is an amazing God. God bless. I would love to get them published but I wouldn’t know the first thing about doing it. If it’s what the Lord wills He’ll guide the way. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

