Obamas and Bidens and Romneys, Oh my!

Why, O LORD, do you make us wander from your ways and harden our hearts so we do not revere you? Isaiah 63:17

I woke up this morning with the idea for this blog taking shape in my thoughts.

…there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Romans 13:1

As I watch and listen to my family and friends and the media share their views on the upcoming election I am compelled to search the scriptures to find out what God’s will is in all of this circus hype.

It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in man. Psalm 118:8

There are several clover-laden pastures the Good Shepherd has led me to to feed upon as I seek His will in who to vote for for President of America.

‘No, we want a king to rule over us’—even though the Lord your God was your king. Now here is the king you have chosen, the one you asked for; see, the Lord has set a king over you. If you fear the Lord and serve and obey him and do not rebel against his commands, and if BOTH you and the king who reigns over you follow the Lord your God—good!  But if you (and the king who reigns over you) do not obey the Lord, and if you rebel against his commands, his hand will be against you, as it was against your ancestors.The people all said to Samuel, “Pray to the Lord your God for your servants so that we will not die, for we have added to all our other sins the evil of asking for a king.”“Do not be afraid,” Samuel replied. “You have done all this evil; yet do not turn away from the Lord, but serve the Lord with all your heartDo not turn away after useless idols. They can do you no good, nor can they rescue you, because they are useless. For the sake of his great name the Lord will not reject his people, because the Lord was pleased to make you his own. As for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the Lord by failing to pray for you. And I will teach you the way that is good and right. But be sure to fear the Lord and serve him faithfully with all your heart; consider what great things he has done for you. Yet if you (and your king) persist in doing evil, both you and your king will perish.” 1 Sam 12 various

And again:

Why do the nations gather together? Why do their people devise useless plots?  Kings take their stands. Rulers make plans together against the LORD and against his Messiah by saying,  “Let’s break apart their chains and shake off their ropes.”  The one enthroned in heaven laughs. The Lord makes fun of them.  Then he speaks to them in his anger. In his burning anger he terrifies them by saying,  “I have installed my own king on Zion, my holy mountain.”  I will announce the LORD’s decree. He said to me: “You are my Son. Today I have become your Father.  Ask me, and I will give you the nations as your inheritance and the ends of the earth as your own possession.  You will break them with an iron scepter. You will smash them to pieces like pottery.”  Now, you kings, act wisely. Be warned, you rulers of the earth!  Serve the LORD with fear, and rejoice with trembling.  Kiss the Son, or he will become angry and you will die on your way because his anger will burst into flames. Blessed is everyone who takes refuge in him.      Psalm 2

And again:

Never keep any strange god among you. Never worship a foreign god.  I am the LORD your God, the one who brought you out of Egypt. Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it.  “But my people did not listen to me. Israel wanted nothing to do with me.  So I let them go their own stubborn ways and follow their own advice If only my people would listen to me! If only Israel would follow me!  I would quickly defeat their enemies. I would turn my power against their foes.  Psalm 81:9-14

Did you know that in the Christian community there is a movement to write in Jesus’ name on the Presidential ballot?  It isn’t the first time that people have wanted Jesus to be their earthly king:

Jesus, knowing that they intended to come and make him king by force, withdrew again to a mountain by himself.  John 6:15

But God makes it clear:

Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world. John 18:36

I came across this debate yesterday and thought I would share it with you.  There is a lot of wisdom in this young man’s words.

I would encourage you to not only listen to this video several times, but to also write down some of the wise quotes of this young man, and compare them to God’s Word.

  We live by faith not by sight. 2 Cor 5:7

If you truly are seeking God’s will and not the popular way of the world I’m confident  you will make a good and Godly, and wise decision.

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”  Isaiah 30:21

Please ignore the first 60 seconds of the following music video by clicking past it:

King Jesus, guide us as we make this most important decision.  Let us not compromise our faith by following what is popular or expedient.  This election is testing the faith of your Children.  May we not fail.  The future of our country depends on it.  In Your royal name, Jesus,  Amen.

After all of this are you wondering who I am going to vote for?  All I will tell you is this; I know who I will NOT be voting for!

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Obamas and Bidens and Romneys, Oh my!

  1. Jennifer says:

    good Scripture verses you’ve chosen, Amy. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

