Standing on a Higher Word

The reason the Son of God appeared was to destroy the devil’s work. 1 John 3:8

Last week I took my son over to the local harbor to show him a huge snake that had started to slither out onto the road but got run over.  His 3 foot body lay along side the road but his head lay on the pavement crushed.

I know many of you shudder at the thought of snakes, but I’ve never really been afraid of them.  I actually remember being thrilled when my 6th grade teacher let me hold the huge python she had in our class zoo.

Speaking of snakes…

… Satan disguises himself as an angel of light.  So it’s not surprising if his servants also disguise themselves as servants who have God’s approval. In the end they will get what they deserve.  2 Cor 11:

Fast forward to yesterday:

“Jesus, protect me as I walk into this building.  Keep me safe from every attack of the enemy.”

I sadly found myself praying this as I got of my car.

Can you guess where I was going?

A mental institution?  No.

A jail?  No.

A police station?  No.

Let me tell you more.

As I walked into this place there was a man with wide-legged stance and hands on hips silhouetted in the dark hallway he was blocking… just standing there watching me as I struggled with the door.

Hmmm.

A bar?  No.

A public school?  No.

A hospital?  No.

Let me tell you more.

With a defensive body language and confrontational clipped tone of voice this man asked me a short provoking question.

As I kindly (and what I thought what humorously) answered him, he turned and walked away with a disgusted, “Harumph!”

I quietly reminded myself  to “Fix my thoughts on Jesus.”  I then thought of Heaven and how I can’t wait to be there.

Have you guessed where I was, yet?

A courthouse  No.

A prison?  No.

A motorcycle club?  No.

Can’t guess?

It is here that my husband and I have encouraged contended for the faith everyone we know with these words

Besides being wise, the spokesman also taught the people what he knew. He very carefully thought about it, studied it, and arranged it in many proverbs.  The spokesman tried to find just the right words. He wrote the words of truth very carefully.  Words from wise people are like spurs. Their collected sayings are like nails that have been driven in firmly. They come from one shepherd.  Be warned, my children, against anything more than these. People never stop writing books. Too much studying will wear out your body. 12:10-13

My spiritual Father once told me something very important that I have never ever forgotten, “The Holy Spirit ALWAYS points to Jesus Christ.”

In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was GodThe Word became flesh and made His dwelling among us.   John 1:1 & 11

And I reason that since Jesus is the Word our focus should, as Martin Luther claimed,  always and only be Sola scriptura – Scripture alone!

Maybe that’s why I often get persecuted hear “You’re too focused and too hedged in.”  The enemy uses those words (from Christian leader’s mouths believe it or not) more than any others to accuse me often.

Speaking of snakes and the enemy I had a confrontation with him, but it was not in some dark hallway.  It was in a dream last night.  If you read my posts you will know that I’ve had several similar encounters with this spiritual enemy.

This is not a wrestling match against a human opponent. We are wrestling with rulers, authorities, the powers who govern this world of darkness, and spiritual forces that control evil in the heavenly world.  For this reason, take up all the armor that God supplies. Then you will be able to take a stand during these evil days. Once you have overcome all obstacles, you will be able to stand your ground.  So then, take your stand!  Eph 6:12-14

I cautiously and guardedly say that with each encounter the Lord graciously permits me to experience greater victory over that ancient serpent…

I wrote a poem about it this particular encounter this morning.  I pray it is an encouragement to my fellow Christians as they struggle.

DANCING WITH THE DEVIL

I danced with the devil

in a dream last night.

He was in the darkness.

I was in the light.

He tried to steal my faith

with his wicked grasp.

Three times he struck my heart

with the lunge of an asp.

“I belong to Jesus!

I belong to the Christ!

I’m baptized into HIS Name,

And by HIS Blood I fight!”

Satan was persistent.

He did not  let go.

But as I was resistant

to that ancient evil foe,

I cried out to Jesus,

“Why won’t Satan leave?”

Jesus answered, “Resist him,

and he always has to flee!”

With new resolve I fought

and just before the dawn,

before I even knew it,

the enemy was gone!

Just like that he vanished

back to his wicked land.

From my presence banished

by my King’s command.

After the battle was over,

As I replayed it in my mind,

I heard my Lord (victoriously) say,

“The enemy is mine!”

(C) July 4, 2012

I just want to say one more thing.  If your church is studying books written by men your leaders are leading you astray.  Ask them…yes, beseech them to return to the scriptures and the scriptures alone.  For Jesus, before He was crucified, assured us,

The words I have spoken to you are spirit and they are life.  John 6:63

and

the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.  John 14:26

But then again, what do I know?  Maybe I’m just too focused.  🙂

Jesus, YOU are the Word, the Way, the Truth, the Life.

The God of peace will soon crush Satan under your feet. The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you.  Romans 16:20

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

