Want true and lasting joy?

The fruit of the Spirit is…Joy…Gal 5:22

Why is joy so elusive?

Pure unadulterated Joy?

God had given them great joy…Neh 12:43

There have been few times when I have felt joy in its almost purest form.  I think the one that sticks out the most is the day my son was born.  Despite the baby blues I still could have walked on air for months after that.

He settles the barren woman in her home as a happy mother of children.  Psalm 113:9

The joy of sharing in such a precious miracle…contented sigh.  Even now surges of joy wash over my heart in remembrance of his birth.

Another time I felt joy was during those days of courting when my future husband pursued me.  His pursuit made my heart sing with joy.

…as a bridegroom rejoices over his bride, so will your God rejoice over you. Isaiah 62:5

Oddly enough, one other time I felt extreme joy was at the funeral of a brother in Christ.  Don’t get me wrong.  I was not happy he had died…the exact opposite.  He was still fairly young, and had been at the peak of his strength when a heart attack laid him in the grave. What a shock.    He was one of the few elders men at our old church that practiced what he preached.  He exemplified Christ in so many ways.

To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps. 1 Peter 2:21

When have you felt joy?

Have you ever wondered where it came from?

In (the Lord’s)  presence is fullness of joy…Psalm 16:11

Pretty simple.

New birth, forming matrimonial relationships, and even the death of a believer brings joy.

Hmmm!

Aren’t all of those from the hand of the Divine?

The LORD brings death and makes alive; he brings down to the grave and raises up. 1 Sam 2:6

He who finds a wife finds what is good and receives favor from the LORD. -Proverbs

Interesting that true joy is from the Lord alone.

There is one other moment I remember a little over a dozen years ago in which I felt the purest joy.  It was in February of 1999.  A Pastor in a Bible study asked me the question, “Who was Jesus?  He was either a liar, a lunatic, or Lord!”

There is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents. Luke 15:10

Ah, what sweet joy filled my heart when I went home and started searching the scriptures as recorded in the Holy Bible.

…you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit. 1 Thess 1:6

So now I ask you, “Who was Jesus?  He was either a liar, a lunatic, or Lord.”

For what is our hope, our joy, or the crown in which we will glory in the presence of our Lord Jesus when he comes? Is it not you? 1 Thess 2:19

Jesus, joy is so elusive because since Adam’s sin this world has fallen into darkness and sin, separated from its Maker.  Joy can only be found by faith in the one true God, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.  There is only one way to be restored back into the Grace and Joy of the Lord and that is through the Lord and the work He did on the cross for us.  May all who read this blog admit they are a sinner…just agree with God…believe in Him…and their joy will be complete!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

