A Fool and His Garage Sale

The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.” Genesis 2:18

I was up in the middle of the night praying as I often am led to do, and, since I hunger and thirst to see the triune God at work in my life, I asked Him to show Himself to me in an amazing way sometime soon.

It didn’t take long.

Early this morning my husband asked me if I wanted to do devotion on the back deck with him.  I quickly agreed because I love when he takes the spiritual leadership.

As we sat out under the morning sky watching the “jets fly over the moon leaving their vapor behind” we got sidetracked (of course Satan does not want us to experience intimacy with God together) into talking about the garage sale my husband is having.  I was sharing my frustrations with him about some of the things he had for sale that maybe he shouldn’t be selling because they will be needed in the near future.  I was warning him of the folly of selling necessary items.  He got angry because he thought that since I didn’t want anything to do with the sale I shouldn’t be concerned about what he has decided to sell.

I tried to gently explain to him that he will regret selling these things, but his feathers were ruffled and I ended up in tears.

As I sat there silently weeping, and he stewing he said, “Give me the devotion.”  I handed it over to him, and after a few moments of studying it he turned to me and said, “This is unbelievable.  Did you know what this was going to say?”

I shook my head no, and at the same time the Holy Spirit quickened my heart’s ears to listen in hope because I could tell God was going to show Himself to us.

My husband started to read the devotion entitled “Advice”.  The author stated that

“people naturally want to be helpful.  How many times have we shunned those who would warn us that accepting the invitation of Folly (or Foolishness) will have a bad ending?  We have too often qualified ourselves as a mocker.  We not only resisted their warning, but we also sometimes mocked them with our words, more often with our deeds.  Such behavior, while foolish, is forgivable.  That is what Christ assures us.  He takes away the sin of our foolishness and stubbornness.  He did this by His innocent suffering and death.  In the power of that forgiveness, we can also make an apology to the one who warned us and we in turn mocked.  Listen to those who would advise you from the Word of God.  They have been given you as a blessing.  They are worthy of your attention, your affection, and your gratitude.”

My husband, in awe,  went on to read Proverbs 9:

Invitations of Wisdom and Folly

9 Wisdom has built her house;
she has set up its seven pillars.
She has prepared her meat and mixed her wine;
she has also set her table.
She has sent out her servants, and she calls
from the highest point of the city,
    “Let all who are simple come to my house!”
To those who have no sense she says,
    “Come, eat my food
and drink the wine I have mixed.
Leave your simple ways and you will live;
walk in the way of insight.”

Whoever corrects a mocker invites insults;
whoever rebukes the wicked incurs abuse.
Do not rebuke mockers or they will hate you;
rebuke the wise and they will love you.
Instruct the wise and they will be wiser still;
teach the righteous and they will add to their learning.

10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom,
and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.
11 For through wisdom your days will be many,
and years will be added to your life.
12 If you are wise, your wisdom will reward you;
if you are a mocker, you alone will suffer.

13 Folly is an unruly woman;
she is simple and knows nothing.
14 She sits at the door of her house,
on a seat at the highest point of the city,
15 calling out to those who pass by,
who go straight on their way,
16     “Let all who are simple come to my house!”
To those who have no sense she says,
17     “Stolen water is sweet;
food eaten in secret is delicious! ”
18 But little do they know that the dead are there,
that her guests are deep in the realm of the dead.

He then read Psalm 34:12-22

12 Whoever of you loves life
and desires to see many good days,
13 keep your tongue from evil
and your lips from telling lies.
14 Turn from evil and do good;
seek peace and pursue it.

15 The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous,
    and his ears are attentive to their cry;
16 but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil,
to blot out their name from the earth.

17 The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them;
he delivers them from all their troubles.
18 The Lord is close to the brokenhearted
and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

19 The righteous person may have many troubles,
but the Lord delivers him from them all;
20 he protects all his bones,
not one of them will be broken.

21 Evil will slay the wicked;
the foes of the righteous will be condemned.
22 The Lord will rescue his servants;
no one who takes refuge in him will be condemned.

The Holy Spirit was at work in my  husband’s heart because to my surprise I heard him say under his breath, “I am so sorry, Lord.”  He then turned to me and said, “Amy, I am so sorry.  I am blessed to have you for a wife.”

I forgave him.

How could I not?

…we preach Christ crucified:a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles,  but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God.  For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom…1 Cor 1:23-25

God answered my prayer and showed Himself to me in an amazing way today!

Praise you Jesus.  You are a wise and good God.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

