Rock Gardens, Body Language, and Cornerstones

“Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Tell me if you have [such] insight.  Who determined its dimensions? Certainly, you know! Who stretched a measuring line over it?  On what were its footings sunk? Who laid its cornerstone...? Job 38:4-6

I love rock gardens.  I’m not talking about great big ones that you walk through.  I’m talking about small ones.  I have two…I guess you could call mine ‘stone and fossil gardens’.   One is arranged in sand on the lid of an old metal garbage can

and the other on a white platter.

They both are  filled with a variety of stones and fossils I have collected over the years during vacations and fossil hunting trips.

So this is what the Sovereign LORD says: “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation; the one who trusts will never be dismayed.  Isaiah 28:16

They set on my front porch on each side of my swing.

I especially love looking at them when I am stressed.  I will go out and sit on my swing and meditate on the stones.  It is so calm and peaceful to rest my eyes on something unmoving, unchanging…stable.  Not to mention the variety and beautiful colors and textures.  I will even hold them under a fountain of water and take time to wet the different stones to cleanse them, wash them of any impurities, and bring out their  life colors more vividly.

“On that day a fountain will be opened to the house of David and the inhabitants of Jerusalem, to cleanse them from sin and impurity. Zech 13:1

I love that about stones.  They are faded, dry, and dirty, and then, swoosh, give them a quick bath, and voila!  They shine with clean new life and vibrancy of color!

For in Scripture it says: “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a chosen and precious cornerstone, and the one who trusts in him will never be put to shame.” 1 Peter 2:6

I had to take time to meditate on them the other day.  I got home from taking my cat Stella to the vet (again!) and was unnerved by the whole experience.  The receptionist had used her (very vocal) body language instead of her words to scream at speak to me and I did not realize how offensive she was until I later realized how jazzed up I was over it.   I took some time to just sit on my swing and meditate on those unchanging unmoving stones.  Calm.  Peace.

My peace I give you.  I do not give as the world gives. – Jesus

I meditated on an awesome trilobite fossil I have in my collection…

As I was turning it over and over in my hands and tracing its highly pleasing created pattern and design, it dawned on me  that I was holding a piece of history.  This very fossil had more than likely been formed during the worldwide flood of Noah’s day.  This trilobite had lived at the same time as Noah, and had died and been swiftly preserved in the catastrophic events that caused such a massive deluge of dead things buried in rock layers all over the earth…

…like this above example I found in a development area several years ago in Lehigh Acres, Florida.

 The flood continued for 40 days on the earth. The water increased and lifted the ship so that it rose high above the ground.  As the water rose and became very deep, the ship floated on top of the water.  The water rose very high above the earth. It covered all the high mountains everywhere under the sky.  It rose 23 feet above the mountaintopsEvery creature that crawls on the earth died, including birds, domestic and wild animals, and everything that swarms over the earth, along with every human.  Everything on dry land (every living, breathing creature) died.  Every living creature on the face of the earth was wiped out. Humans, domestic animals, crawling creatures, and birds were wiped off the earth. Only Noah and those with him in the ship were left. Genesis 7:17-23

It may sound strange, but I felt so very close to Jesus at that moment.

Calm.

Peace.

Could it be because the true account of Noah and the Ark, and the worldwide flood (judgement) are a foreshadow of Jesus Christ, our baptism into him,  and the saving work he did on the cross to save us from the judgement of our sin?

But now through Christ Jesus you, who were once far away, have been brought near by the blood of Christ.  So he is our peace. .. He brought an end to the commandments and demands found in Moses’ Teachings…He also brought them back to God in one body by his cross, on which he killed the hostility.  He came with the Good News of peace for you who were far away and for those who were near…That is why you are no longer foreigners and outsiders but citizens together with God’s people and members of God’s family.  You are built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets. Christ Jesus himself is the cornerstone.  Eph 2

I think I like stones so much because their ‘body language’ reminds me of Jesus.

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. Hebrews 13:8

They also remind me of another promise He made that gives me hope…

I will also give each person a white stone with a new name written on it, a name that is known only to the person who receives it. Rev 2:17

Living Stones by Michael Card

Living stones, living stones
We are holy, living stones
Built upon the firm foundation
That is Jesus
And as we cling to that Rock
Who became a Stumbling Stone
We remember we are living stones

See, in Zion He is known
As a chosen precious cornerstone
And the ones who come to trust in Him
Will never know the shame
That He bore on that Cross when it seems
That all was lost
He is a Stone that makes men stumble
The Rock that makes them fall

By the Word of His mouth
We are made one holy house
Though we live as scattered strangers
We are not homeless, we are free
We are one family and one fold
One Overseer of our souls
Says we are His own possession
We are living stones

Jesus, you are my Rock.  In a quickly changing world flooded with sin, You remain the same always.  I am Your living stone.  Use me to build, Master Carpenter.  In Jesus name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

