A Sanctuary of Redwing Blackbirds, The Point, and A Greater Peace

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?      1 Cor 6:19

We slowed down to watch a redwing blackbird at the state park the other day.  His wings and chest were all puffed out in some kind of ceremonial (mating? territorial?) dance, twirling and swirling by the road.  The problem was there was no other redwing blackbird to be seen!

Wherever I go, if I hear the sound of the redwing blackbird it always reminds me of peace.

I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Psalm 63:2

Is there a certain sound, sight or smell, that when you hear, see, or taste it brings back a flood of peace?  Mine is the trill of the redwing blackbird, and the reason is because when I was younger I would escape the noise and pressure of living in a home with 8 raucous people by stealing away to a place we called “The Point.”

May he send you help from the sanctuary and grant you support from Zion. Psalm 20:2

“The Point” was just that, a point of land between two steep-sided babbling brooks, a field away from my house.   There was high grass, and canopied trees covered the  entire area in this peaceful hush, shaded from the world, with the sound of the soothing water singing a background lullaby.   Without fail, whenever I would go there seeking sanctuary, the song of the redwing blackbird would accompany me.

I’m much older, but when I go out to my Dad’s on Sundays, I sometimes still take a walk back to “The Point” just to experience that same peace I was blessed with as a child.

The redwing blackbird and “The Point” remind me of A Greater Peace:

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9:6

Who is this Prince of Peace?  Jesus is our Prince of Peace.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.  John 14:27

God was (even though I did not know) and is (now I know) the Author of my peace.  He is my sanctuary.

Jesus, be our peace.  Fill us with your Holy Spirit to believe that you lived, died, and rose again for the forgiveness of sins, so that we may be at peace with God.  God is satisfied when we are in Christ.  His wrath was poured out on you so that we no longer suffer the curse of sin.  Peace!  True Peace!  Amen, Jesus!

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

