Burnt Onion Rings and Raw Deals

“Several years ago my daughter had two goldfish, Christian and Dior, aptly named for our favorite pastime, shopping and fashion. For some reason I put the fishbowl on top of the stove. You have to understand that most of the time my stove is off, and virtually unused. There is no grease in my kitchen, grease would mean that I had cooked something. I usually moved the fish when I turned on the burners, which was mostly to boil water. On this occasion I turned on the oven instead, but forgot to move the fish … Sad to say we had “bouillabaisse,” by the time I returned. Poor fishies … I felt horrible, being an animal lover. I still don’t know why I chose to put them on the stove. Maybe they did not coordinate with the colors in my living room, who knows.” (J. in Michigan – 4/1/03) Actual testimonial from burntfoodmuseum.com

The sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.  Romans 8:18

I burnt (is that even a word?—Yes it is, I just looked it up.) the onion rings last night.

Yes…a caterer by career and I can’t even bake onion rings without burning them.

I was on the phone praying with a friend and forgot to check on them. I had the oven on 450 because I was also baking fish (not goldfish, but Parmesan crusted tilapia) and my son and I love our fish extra crispy.  Well, the fish were extra crispy, but the onion rings were fried, and I don’t mean deep!

My husband came home from work while the rings were baking and I was praying.  He was hotter than the charred batter stuck to the bottom of the pan, and he didn’t hesitate to let me know his displeasure.

I wish and pray and hope that one day he will be gentle with me the way God intended husbands to treat their wives, but it hasn’t happened yet.

I woke up this morning raw from the emotions of last night’s burnt onion ring fiasco, and went out on my back deck to spend some time with the Lord.  As seagulls were continuously flying west over my head, I pictured myself at the foot of Jesus’ cross and I poured out my hurting heart to Him.  I laid my anger there, my hurt feelings, my wounded soul, and my disappointment in getting a raw deal when it comes to sensitive gentle husbands.

I cried raw tears (and not from the onions).

(You have kept a record of my wanderings. Put my tears in your bottle. They are already in your book.) Psalm 56:8

Then I gathered myself, went back inside the house, got out my devotion and as I read, my raw soul was quieted within me.

O LORD, my heart is not conceited. My eyes do not look down on others. I am not involved in things too big or too difficult for me.  Instead, I have kept my soul calm and quiet. My soul is content as a weaned child is content in its mother’s arms.  Israel, put your hope in the LORD now and forever. Psalm 131

I am always amazed at how the Holy Spirit works.  He knows just what I need to hear and His words are always

like apples of gold in settings of silver,

for the devotion entitled Jonathan and the “Raw” Deal (No joke! Get it? Burnt/raw?) was exactly about how I was feeling at that very moment.  It was about Jonathan and David’s relationship, and how Jonathan got a raw deal.  He loved the Lord with all his heart, but God chose David instead of him to be king after his father, Saul, died.  Jonathon saved David’s life just to die in battle and have his body mistreated.

Why would God allow Jonathan to be treated this way?  Why does God allow us to be treated terribly when we deserve so much better (humanly speaking)?  The author of the devotion went on to explain that we live in a devil-dominated world where we try to do right, but we still come out losers.

What can make up for our loss?

For my loss?

What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ.  Phil 3:8

I chuckled to myself at my own childish emotions as I read that only one thing can do that…Jonathan had the Lord, and Jesus is more than enough to counterbalance all losses.  I have Jesus, and that is enough.  He loved me enough to lose everything for me, even His own life.  He is my good, and He will make my losses good on that day when He raises all His people from death to life forever.

For your Maker is your husband–the LORD Almighty is his name–the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer; he is called the God of all the earth. Isaiah 54:5

Sometimes I just need the reminder.

Jesus, thank you that you never let me forget that you are all the sensitive Husband I need.  Thank you for authoring beautiful music like “Give Me Jesus” through artists like Fernando Ortega.  Music soothes the rawness of life, as do you, my gentle Lord.  God bless in a powerful way today each and every one who reads my blog, Lord, In Jesus name, Amen

And to my husband’s credit, for what it’s worth, he did apologize.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burnt Onion Rings and Raw Deals

  1. GodGirl says:

    Great post. I can understand the hurt. But what a great counterbalance to know that He is your every-tender, perfect husband, and all of him is enough for all of you. God bless.

Leave a Reply

