The Blood Was Red Is a Hard Teaching

For the life of a creature is in the blood, and I have given it to you to make atonement for yourselves on the altar; it is the blood that makes atonement for one’s life. Leviticus 17:11

“Life is in the blood.” –  Those were the words the Holy Spirit brought to my mind as I sat in the emergency room a few days ago with my husband.  The paramedic had just drawn a vial of blood from my hubby’s arm and was holding it up in the air to put the information sticker on it.

As I remember the moment I also remember that yesterday I was reading an article in “Good News” magazine entitled I Am With You Always – Matthew 28:20.  In it, the author states that mainline Protestants, argued long ago by Zwingli and Calvin, say that Christ comes to live in us spiritually.  Luther opposed both of them by stating that those who, like Zwingli, say that Jesus does not come “bodily” into his followers through His Holy Supper, even though He said, “This is My Body,” are calling Christ a liar (Luther’s Words, vol. 37, p. 197).

While they were eating, Jesus took bread and blessed it. He broke the bread, gave it to his disciples, and said, “Take this, and eat it. This is my body.” Then he took a cup and spoke a prayer of thanksgiving. He gave it to them and said, “Drink from it, all of you.  This is my blood, the blood of the promise. It is poured out for many people so that sins are forgiven. Mathew 26:26-28

As I pondered this new revelation and struggled with it in my mind, I asked my husband what he thought, and his simple answer gave me great peace of mind and heart.  He said, “Amy, Jesus said ‘This is my body…this is my blood.’  It’s that simple.”

As my husband said it, my mind went to the communion rail and I pictured myself eating the body bread, and drinking the blood wine.  God made the connection for me.

Life IS in the blood!

The prophets wrote, ‘God will teach everyone.’ Those who do what they have learned from the Father come to me.  I’m saying that no one has seen the Father. Only the one who is from God has seen the Father.  I can guarantee this truth: Every believer has eternal life.  “I am the bread of life.  Your ancestors ate the manna in the desert and died.  This is the bread that comes from heaven so that whoever eats it won’t die.  I am the living bread that came from heaven. Whoever eats this bread will live forever. The bread I will give to bring life to the world is my flesh.”  The Jews began to quarrel with each other. They said, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?”  Jesus told them, “I can guarantee this truth: If you don’t eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you don’t have the source of life in you.Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood have eternal life, and I will bring them back to life on the last day. My flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. John 6:45-55

Even as I continue to ponder all of these hard teachings wonderful revelations, my body is experiencing a peace that surpasses human understanding.

I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but CHRIST LIVES IN ME; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me, and delivered Himself up for me.  Gal 2:20

Living by faith alone brings great assurance and peace within.  And I was further blessed last night when the Pastor, during the worship service and my proxy nephew’s baptism, further affirmed this revelation by stating Jesus’ words

Never will I leave you, never will I forsake you.

Jesus, it is a hard teaching to believe that you come to live in us bodily, but by the gift of faith and the power of the Holy Spirit in us we believe, for your word says that anything apart from faith is sin.  There is great comfort knowing that You and Your blood are in me, for then the scripture that says “He who is in me is greater than he who is in the world” takes on a greater meaning when I know that your precious red blood that conquered sin, death, and the devil, is in me.  Praise God! I am reminded of my life verse John 15:5 in which You state that You are The Vine and we are the branches.  I’m glad I’m connected to Your life-giving sustenance.   Thank you for healing my husband over his 3 day stay in the hospital, and I’m thankful that he is home again.  Thank you for all of the prayers of your people on his behalf, Lord.  I am thankful that your Spirit moves people to pray and that the prayers of a righteous man or woman are powerful and effective.  In Jesus name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

