Aye, Aye, Capitan!

My husband was in a rush to get to work this morning, so he called me on the cell to remind me that the garbage has to go out for collection.  I said to him, “Aye, Aye, Capitan!”  before hanging up.

In some odd way it sounded so right to call my husband Capitan.  I used to not think that way.  I used to be swayed by the cries of this world about the feminist movement and all kinds of lies things.  My words reflected my beliefs and at that time I believed just about everything and anything I heard.

Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming. Ephesians 4:14

Little did I know at the time that the world is one big lie.  Guess what that made the words coming out of my mouth?

But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken.  Matthew 12:36

I grew up in a home void of Jesus Christ for the most part.  I went to church a few times as a youngster, but not much sunk in.  In high school I practiced witchcraft for a while and then later proclaimed myself an atheist and didn’t give much thought to God, let alone realize I was accountable to him for everything I said.

Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.          Hebrews 4:13

Not until I was 34 years old did Jesus open up my eyes.  Once I started reading The Holy Bible, and the Holy Spirit opened up my mind to understand, and my faith was fanned into flame, did I truly start to know Truth what was going on.  I’ve been a Christian now for 13 years and the Lord teaches me something new all the time.  You could say we sail the paths of spiritual oceans together, My True Capitan and I, somewhere new everyday.

The apostles gathered around Jesus. They reported to him everything they had done and taught.  Mark 6:30

This verse came before my eyes recently, and it dawned on me that I ask a lot of My Capitan, Jesus,  but I don’t usually report to Him what I do for Him.  This is a new phase the Lord is bringing me into in my prayer life.

Isn’t accountability to someone a good thing?  And since we live in a world of fake conversations with other people via facebook, email, texting, and the like, where we don’t usually talk to someone face to face, let alone want to be held accountable to anyone, isn’t it wonderful that we have a God that we can come before in humility and accountability?

Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence…  Hebrews 4:16

We can trust Him and not only agree with God confess our sin, but recount all that we have done…or rather, all that His word has accomplished through us?

Job understood this.

I would give him an account of my every step; like a prince I would approach him.–Job 31:37

After all, isn’t it a good practice to get into since we will all have to do it face to face one day?

So then, each of us will give an account of himself to God. Romans 14:12

And shouldn’t we daily be accountable to God since Jesus was held accountable for our sins?

And He Himself is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the whole world.               1 John 2:2

ONLY ONE LIFE

Two little lines I heard one day, Traveling along life’s busy way;
Bringing conviction to my heart, And from my mind would not depart;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one, Soon will its fleeting hours be done;
Then, in ‘that day’ my Lord to meet, And stand before His Judgment seat;
Only one life,’ twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, the still small voice, Gently pleads for a better choice
Bidding me selfish aims to leave, And to God’s holy will to cleave;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, a few brief years, Each with its burdens, hopes, and fears;
Each with its clays I must fulfill, living for self or in His will;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

When this bright world would tempt me sore, When Satan would a victory score;
When self would seek to have its way, Then help me Lord with joy to say;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Give me Father, a purpose deep, In joy or sorrow Thy word to keep;
Faithful and true what e’er the strife, Pleasing Thee in my daily life;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Oh let my love with fervor burn, And from the world now let me turn;
Living for Thee, and Thee alone, Bringing Thee pleasure on Thy throne;
Only one life, “twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one, Now let me say, “Thy will be done”;
And when at last I’ll hear the call, I know I’ll say ‘twas worth it all”;
Only one life,’ twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

poem written by C.T. Studd – missionary

It is not always easy being a witness testifying to the Truth on a stormy ocean of lies, and giving account to our Capitan, but…

…We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. Hebrews 6:19

Jesus, I bare the scrutiny of God every day.  I stand before your eyes with utter confidence in the anchor of your love and forgiveness to me.  You have drawn me to the deep; a place of Godly sorrow and repentance over a life lived void of you even though I knew down in the very depths of my inner self that you existed.  Thank you, Captain of my soul, for revealing yourself to me through your word and Holy Spirit, forgiving me, and restoring me into a right relationship with God.  Nothing I do, nothing I give account for now, no work of my own will gain me entrance into Heaven.  Only Christ has earned that right for me.  (In Him) This I do most honestly believe.  Give me your Holy Spirit that I may come before you daily and account to you for all I do and teach.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

