Believing is Seeing planted Sunflower Seeds

Still other seed fell on good soil. It came up and yielded a crop, a hundred times more than was sown.” When he said this, he called out, “He who has ears to hear, let him hear.” Luke 8:8

My son (in whom I am well pleased) has a deep spirituality.  He sees things that others can’t.  One night as we were leaving the house under a full moon, my son looked up at the night sky and said, “Mom, look!  God’s flashlight!”

God made two great lights–the greater light to govern the day and the lesser light to govern the night. Genesis 1:16

Thinking of the moon reminds me of the sun.  Thinking of the sun reminds me of the brightness of sunflowers.  Sunflowers remind me of a few times when my son was younger and I got to see light-filled words I said to him being planted deeply in his heart by the Holy Spirit.  The first spiritual thing I remember telling him when he was just a wee little lad was this secret, “The world thinks that seeing is believing, but in truth, believing is really seeing.”

After that day I can remember him saying those very exact words to a family member who had quipped, “Seeing is believing.”  He went, “Uh-uh, believing is seeing.”

…blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” John 20:29

Another time the Holy Spirit allowed me to see Him working was a day I was eating sunflower seeds.  I picked up a palm full to eat, and as I was looking at them the Holy Spirit touched my heart with wisdom.  He had me show those seeds to my son and ask him if they were dead or alive?  My son said, “Dead.”

I encouraged him, “Are you sure?”

He studied them for a few seconds, and then I saw the light bulb go on in his head.

Then he opened their minds so they could understand…Luke 24:45

It was a magic moment of spiritual awakening for both of us.  My son to the truth of living dead seed, and me to the truth that God speaks to my seed and makes it alive.

-the God who gives life to the dead and calls things that are not as though they were.  Romans 4:17

I came across this inspired poem this morning that I wrote about that precious time of teaching by our great Rabbi, Jesus Christ…

REMEMBER THE SUNFLOWER SEED

“Is this seed dead or alive?”  I asked as I held it in the palm of my  hand. “Will it be fruitless and barren, or bear more seed when planted in the land?”

Above the ground the seed is mortal, but when planted in the heart of soil, a tiny sprout emerges, seeking the sun so as not to spoil.

Fed by water, and light a magnet, it mysteriously grows upright, inwardly reaching for the warmth and roots developing downward, out of sight.

Roots growing deeper for stability and security of needed nutrient.  Stalk growing stronger and taller breaking through dust, unbent.

One day when complete and mature the petals beautifully unfolding within the bright yellow softness a bevy of new seeds beholding.

As I stare at the beautiful intricate pattern of seeds in this sunflower, I am amazed that the Artist of the Universe would choose my son and I.  He is an amazing God!

Jesus replied to them, “The time has come for the Son of Man to be glorified.  I can guarantee this truth: A single grain of wheat doesn’t produce anything unless it is planted in the ground and dies. If it dies, it will produce a lot of grain.  John 12:23-24

Abba Father, Thank you for sending your Son, Jesus Christ, into this world to live and die and rise again…just like a seed brings new life, so does He.  In Jesus name, Amen.

Later today:   And thank you Almighty God for three affirmations that followed this post.  My morning devotion included the John 12:23-24 scripture quotation and a reference to sunflowers, and my sister-in-law asking me to watch her seedling sunflowers for her in a week.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

