Cheers to Kitty Cats, Israel, Seals and Baby Names

Nevertheless, God’s solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription: “The Lord knows those who are his,” 2 Timothy 2:19

My name, Amy, means ‘Beloved’ or ‘Serene Spirit.’  It didn’t mean much to me growing up and at one point (sixth grade) I hated my name so much that I changed it for the entire school year to one of my middle names (yes, I have two middle names).  That got old, too, and so I went back to my first name the following year.

For a long time I hated my name.

On the other hand I love my son’s name, Corey Nathan.  I scoured baby name books for hours while pregnant trying to find the perfect name for my baby.  I picked Corey Nathan because Corey means “dweller by the ravine.”  When he was born our home was on a ravine and I wanted to give him a name that meant something; a name that had depth and meaning and memory.  I chose Nathan  because that name means “gift of God.”  We almost named him Dakota, but a Pastor friend of mine asked me, “North or South?”  That question alone diminished the importance of naming my baby Dakota in my eyes, so I chose another name not so easily made fun of.

Speaking of names, my sister has recently acquired a kitten and she hasn’t officially named him yet, even though she’s had him for 4 months now.  He’s just “Kitty”.  I have 3 cats; Stella, Comet, and Orion.  Comet is the only cat with one name.  We call Stella Witchy Kitty, Meany-Butt, or Stella Bella Smella Fella. Orion has more than one name, too.  On certain occasions we call him Stinky Pete, Kitty Cat, Kitty Kitty, Marky Mark, Junior, Taco Bell Eater, Pistol Pete, Rascal, Rapscallion, and a couple others I can’t mention.  Can you tell he’s a little hellion?  My cats carry many names, but I love them all the same.

The same sister who has the kitty cat with no name is also a librarian and she was telling me yesterday that someone wrote a letter to the library and told them that coming to the library is similar to that old sitcom “Cheers”  where “everybody knows your name.”

My Mother-in-Law (This joke comes to mind that I heard Saturday night:  What’s the difference between a Mother-in-Law and and an Outlaw?  An Outlaw is wanted….groan) has this thing about people knowing her name.  I can tell that it is very important to her that someone remembers her name.  Somehow that touches something down deep inside of her.  To be known.  To be remembered.  To be important enough for someone to know her name.

I took you from the ends of the earth, from its farthest corners I called you (by name). I said, ‘You are my servant’; I have chosen you and have not rejected you. Isaiah 41:9

I came across another elderly woman the other day who reminded me very much of my Mother-in-Law.  It was very important to her too, that she be remembered by name.  Her heart eyes lit up when she was telling about this man who remembered her name.

I was at a mission meeting last week and someone was retelling a story about another missionary who had come to our church and had went around the room introducing himself before he spoke, and when he got up to speak he remembered and called everybody by name during his talk!!!  That incident had left a deep and lasting impression on this person.

What is it about our name and someone knowing our name that is so important?

And you also are among those who are called to belong to Jesus Christ. Romans 1:9

Not too long ago it came all clear to me.  I was listening to a Pastor on Youtube explain baptism.  In baptism God (awe) names us as His.  I baptize you ________________ (insert your name here) in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit…  Matthew 28:18

He calls us by name.  We are sealed.

…you were sealed for the day of redemption. Eph 4:30

Our name is important because it is who we are in Jesus Christ.  I am learning to love my name because God does.

This brings to mind something my spiritual Father told me when I was a new Christian. ” Anywhere in the Bible that God uses the name “Israel” you can replace it with your own name.”

“Listen to me, O Jacob, Israel ________(insert your name here), whom I have called: I am he.  Isaiah 48:12

We are in Christ if our name is in His.

So he ordered that they be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ.  Acts 10:48

And what is His name?  As recorded in the Old Testament Moses found out when he asked God his name, and…

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.'” Exodus 3:14

and in the New Testament Jesus reminded the pharisees of his name

 “I can guarantee this truth: Before Abraham was ever born, I am.” John 8:58

Jesus is the Great I Am.  There is one God and Jesus is His name.

I was wondering what video to play for this devotional post and my Media Player started playing this one by Michael Card…It can’t be any more appropriate…

You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that–and shudder (at His name). James 2:19
…that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth…Phil 2:10

Abba Father, Thank you for naming me yours.  Heaven is where everyone will be known by name.  In Jesus name, Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

