The Protection Connection!

Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit [who is] in you, whom you have from God… 1 Corinthians 6:19

I am raising my son to be a shelterer, defender and a protector…or rather, he is raising me to notice those qualities in him and nurture them out into the forefront…. or rather, he naturally has a sheltering, defender and protector spirit that his mother has almost squelched on several occasions.  (eek)

I remember one of those occasions well.  My sister and I were on the playground with our sons who are very near each other in age.  Some kid was bullying my nephew.  My son, an adolescent at the time, properly read what was happening and quickly rose up to defend his cousin.   I can still picture him standing in the gap between this bully and his cousin.  Standing there in the spirit of shelter, defense, and protection.

Unfortunately, all I saw was my son push the bully down.  I started to react, thinking the worst of my son, until my sister stopped me.  I’m so glad she did.   My son naturally knew when an injustice had been done and stood up to stop it dead in its tracks.

When I think back on it,  I am so proud of him and his eagerness to shelter, defend and protect his kindred cousin.  I thank God through His Son Jesus Christ that He has instilled those wonderful Godly attributes in my son.

That situation reminds me of a puzzle piece God put in place while teaching me during these last two weeks of meditation and scripture reading.

In my prayers I have always been drawn to David’s prayers in the Psalms such as these:

Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me, for in you my soul takes refuge. I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed. Psalm 57:1

He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. Psalm 91:4

When I would repeat those verses to myself I would picture myself safe under Jesus arms, but He brought me into a new depth of understanding of these scriptures by making a much needed connection which has given me added peace and security.   I heard it the other day and the Holy Spirit immediately opened up my mind to grasp its significance. I love when He does that!

Make one cherub at one end, and the other cherub at the other end; you shall make the cherubim at the two ends of it [of one piece] with the mercy seat.  “And the cherubim shall stretch out [their] wings above, covering the mercy seat with their wings, and they shall face one another; the faces of the cherubim [shall be] toward the mercy seat.  Exodus 25:19-20

The priests then brought the ark of the LORD’s covenant to its place in the inner sanctuary of the temple, the Most Holy Place, and put it beneath the wings of the cherubim. 1 Kings 8:6

Do you get the protection connection?

I don’t understand why it sometimes takes me so long to notice something so obvious.  Wait!  Yes I do.  Temples don’t get built in a day!

Then David gave his son Solomon the plans for the vestibule, its houses, its treasuries, its upper chambers, its inner chambers, and the place of the mercy seat;   1 Chronicles 28:11

I think the Lord just put another stone in place.  🙂

…you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.   1 Peter 2:5

Oh Jesus, I never made the obvious connection before.  Thank you for showing me that your wings harbor mercy as well as shelter, defense, and protection at the mercy seat.  When I experience the power of my own sin I run to the mercy seat knowing that I, worst of sinners, am sheltered, defended, and protected there by the power of God.  In your name, Jesus, Amen.

Dear Reader, if any of these posts are an encouragement to you I ask that you please share them.  Thanks and God bless.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

