Parable of an Easter Fool Who Passed By

Jesus spoke all these things to the crowd in parables; he did not say anything to them without using a parable. Matthew 13:34

I supplied breakfast for an LWML group that I attended last Saturday.  I had to buy paper products so my husband and I went to my favorite store in the whole wide world The Dollar Store.  I picked up some brightly colored Easter bunny/eggs/butterfly napkins to which my husband said, shouldn’t you buy crosses or something?  I giggled and said, “I can find a parable connection to Jesus Christ in just about anything, even the Easter bunny (see “peeps” video below.)

Reminds me of something that happened the other day.  It was unseasonably warm here where I live so I spent the day sitting out on my porch knitting.  As I sat there this young man came huffing and puffing along the side of the road.  He swiftly walked with long strides and I heard him talking out loud to himself, “Just keep moving.  You’re almost there.  Just keep moving.  You’re almost there.”  Not too long after he passed by I looked up to see a very long funeral procession going by.  Not too long after the funeral procession passed by I glanced up and “just happened” to see a large white delivery truck pass by.  Printed on the side were the words of advertising for a famous stereo company…“Hear! – See! – Believe!”

Have you figured out where I’m going with this yet?

Yes…I can find a parable connection to teach about Jesus Christ in anything.  I see him everywhere!  Even in seemingly insignificant everyday happenings.

See, when the young man passed by I immediately thought that Jesus was encouraging me to persevere…

It’s not that I’ve already reached the goal or have already completed the course. But I run to win that which Jesus Christ has already won for me.  Brothers and sisters, I can’t consider myself a winner yet. This is what I do: I don’t look back, I lengthen my stride, and  I run straight toward the goal to win the prize that God’s heavenly call offers in Christ Jesus. Phil 3:12-14

When the funeral procession passed by I immediately thought that Jesus was reminding me to….

number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.  Psalm 90:12

and when the delivery van passed by and I read the slogan I immediately thought of Isaiah’s prophetic words…

Then the eyes of those who see will no longer be closed, and the ears of those who hear will listen. Isa 32:3

For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe. 1 Cor 1:21

He constantly passes by.  Are you aware?  Do you see Him?  Do you hear Him? Do you believe?  I pray that from now on you do, and I encourage you to spend a few hours sitting outside to see who what passes by.  Better yet, take your Bible with you.

Jesus, living as an atheist I never saw you anywhere until you opened my eyes through your word.  Now, by the grace of God, everywhere I look I see you pass by!  Thank you, dear Lord.  Amen!

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

