Fear of Flying?

When I was just a wee little girl my Dad took me and my best friend to my Uncle’s airport where we got to experience our first flight.  I remember I was nervous and had this young child’s fear of flying.  It ended up being the most magical time as we soared above the earth.  I distinctly remember one moment in time when, looking down, I saw a woman hanging clothes out on the line.  She looked like a little insect from the view up there.

Flying in that airplane with my best friend is one of my fondest memories of childhood and I wanted to share that with my 16 year old son. We looked into getting him an airplane ride at the local airport, but it cost $140 for a one hour ride!  My husband and I discussed it and decided we may as well get him a round trip ticket to Florida for that price, and then he could stay with his Aunt and Uncle for a week and not only get to experience flight, but enjoy a tropical climate, too, not to mention the hot air balloon festival that is taking place this week!

(Since that decision I have had many doubts plague my mind as any adult can imagine)

We took him to the airport yesterday and anxiously excitedly waited with him while he boarded the plane.  My husband waited downstairs while I got to go upstairs, through security, to see him off.

Just before he boarded I told him that I was entrusting him to the care and keeping of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, and blessed him as he went.

My heart and my arms longed to pull him back to myself and hold him and not let him go, but, by faith, I released him to fly.

As I saw his form vanish through the boarding gate to the plane I rushed over to the window to watch and see if I could catch a glimpse of him through one of the jet windows.  I pressed my forehead against the airport glass as tears streamed down my face.  My son!  My son!  I miss you already!

Have you ever prayed a prayer like this one?  “God, you better take care of my child.  You promised!”

God honors the heart of a Mother even if she is a little too demanding.  He spoke His word so quietly and softly and tenderly to my heart in rapid succession…

…it is appointed (as part of a plan) for men to die once….  Hebrews 9:27

For I know the plans I have for your my son, declares the Lord, ” Plans to prosper him and not to harm him, plans to give him a hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

“… no plan of yours can be thwarted. Job 42:2

My heart still longed for my son’s return, but at the same time I had a deep peace take residence.  My son is okay.  He is God’s son first and foremost, and Jesus cares more for him than even I do.  Not only does He care for him more than I do, but only Jesus is in control of my son’s entire life…and death, when that  planned appointed time comes.

As I and one other Mom watched our children’s flight prepare to taxi, we noticed the flagman on the ground was attached to the plane with a corded headset (very symbolic of how our hearts felt at that very moment )as he received last second directions from the pilot.  The Mom humorously said to me, “I hope he detaches that cord before the plane lifts off.”  When the pilot was ready the flagman released unplugged his headset from the planes exterior and the plane began to taxi down to the runway.  I heart wrenchingly watched as my son soared off into the sunset sky.

Later last night we called my son *deep sigh of relief*after we saw from the internet that his flight had safely landed.  I can’t tell you the sheer delight I experienced in hearing his voice.  I asked him to describe to me what his first flight was like.  He said, “Magical!”

*deep sigh of satisfaction*

There is no fear in flying if the flying is done by faith in love.

The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms. Deut 33:27

As I meditated on these things this morning the Lord showed me that through this experience, not only is He working to mature me to fly without fear, but to release my son to fly as well.  He gave me a vision of the strings on a hot air (hmmm?) balloon that are released one by one to free the balloon so that it can soar in the skies above, free from all moorings.  He showed me that one mooring that most mothers men never release is the apron string.  God showed me a long time ago that I was to gradually release control authority of my son and not to keep him tied to me.   It is imperative for his spiritual growth that he come to rely on Jesus Christ and not Mom (or Dad).   For one day he will

…leave his father and mother and be united with his wife, and the two will be one.  This is a great mystery. (I’m talking about Christ’s relationship to the church.)  Ephesians 5:30-31

Even as I read the above verse He is showing me the eternal deeper meaning for my my son’s life.

This experience with letting my son go to fly to Florida was one of those heart strings being released.  Magical!

and since we’re on this flight together…

Abba Father,  Thank you for the heart attachment that mothers have to their children.  Thank you for taking away all fear of flying.  By grace, through the gift of faith we believe that you are our pilot.  How safe we are when the nail-scarred hands are in control of the plane!!!  You are wonderful, Jesus!  Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

