Longing for ?

We were watching “Bruce Almighty” the other day.  I did not realize that in the midst of Bruce (Jim Carey) being given God’s power there was one scene where the news was reporting that Japan had experienced a tsunami as a result of Bruce having messed with the moon and stars.  Did anyone else catch that?  Was that just coincidence?  (I think not.)

Did you hear that Japan had two more earthquakes the other day?  Thank God there were no tsunami’s to go along with them.  What about the severe weather outbreaks across this country and the world that really appear to be worsening?  I wonder if that’s just because media makes it seem that way or if it really is???

The LORD is slow to anger and great in power; the LORD will not leave the guilty unpunished. His way is in the whirlwind and the storm, and clouds are the dust of his feet.  Nah 1:3

Weren’t those some spring storms a couple of days ago!?! Two confirmed tornadoes and many funnel clouds sighted.  My husband and I were waiting for our son to get out of his driver’s training testing and it hailed for almost a solid 30 minutes, ceased for 10-15 minutes, and then hailed for another 5 minutes or so.  Some of them were grape-sized!!!

There will be great earthquakes, famines and pestilences in various places, and fearful events and great signs from heaven.  Luke 21:11

A Pastor once told me that natural disasters are “God’s mini-judgments pointing to the final judgment to come” in this fallen, dark, sinful, world.

When our son got in the van he told us that they had spent most of the time in the designated tornado shelter girl’s locker room after the tornado warning sirens went off.

He has always been afraid of severe weather, but I was delighted to hear him tell that during the worst of it a woman had come over to comfort him when she saw him crying. She and her husband stood by him as the storm raged.

He continued to tell us that he was praying the Lord’s prayer

(Jesus said) “This is how you should pray: Our Father in heaven, let your name be kept holy.  Let your kingdom come. Let your will be done on earth as it is done in heaven.  Give us our daily bread today.  Forgive us as we forgive others.  Don’t allow us to be tempted. Instead, rescue us from the evil one.  “If you forgive the failures of others, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.  But if you don’t forgive others, your Father will not forgive your failures.  Matthew 6:19

under his breath when the woman asked him if he was praying?  He told her that he was and then she mentioned something to him about mother nature throwing everything she had at them.  My son told her, “I don’t believe in mother nature.  I believe in God,” to which she confessed, “I also believe in God.”  When they parted ways they hugged and blessed each other.

You have been a refuge for the poor, a refuge for the needy in his distress, a shelter from the storm and a shade from the heat.  Isaiah 25:4

As we discussed this situation we realized that God could have sent those storms for the simple purpose of bringing one person into the Kingdom of God.  To save a life eternally He would do that you know.  He would give even more than that…

Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give men in exchange for you, and people in exchange for your life.  Isaiah 43:4

As I pondered these things in my heart later that night…the power of those storms and the power of His love that would stir up a tempest to reveal himself to His lost sheep…I was filled with a powerful longing almost as strong as the rumbles of thunder that shook our home to its very foundation.

O God, you are my God. At dawn I search for you. My soul thirsts for you. My body longs for you in a dry, parched land where there is no water.  So I look for you in the holy place to see your power and your glory.  My lips will praise you because your mercy is better than life [itself].  So I will thank you as long as I live. I will lift up my hands [to pray] in your name.  You satisfy my soul with the richest foods. My mouth will sing [your] praise with joyful lips.  As I lie on my bed, I remember you. Through the long hours of the night, I think about you.  You have been my help. In the shadow of your wings, I sing joyfully.  My soul clings to you. Your right hand supports me.           Psalm 63:1-8

This morning He showed me that our lives are each 70 years, or 80 if we have the strength, of longing.  Some understand what that longing is about and some don’t.

Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.
Henry David Thoreau

Jesus showed me that each life is just a mini example of the longing He experiences for his world.

“O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing. Matthew 23:37

What will you do the next time you are caught in a storm?

For I take no pleasure in the death of anyone, declares the Sovereign LORD. Repent and live! Ezekiel 18:32

Father God, thank you for the storms and the tornadoes that remind us of the fall and subsequent separation in the Garden when Adam and Eve sinned.  Thank you for the promise of a Savior.  Thank you for sending that Savior 2, 000 years ago in fulfillment of your longing to have us restored to you.  Thank you for Jesus life, death and resurrection on our behalf.  Thank you that the storm He endured on the cross saved our lives! Your kingdom is planted and reaped in the middle of  storms, not during fair weather.  Please grow the seeds scattered in the midst of recent storms.  In Jesus’ name, Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

