A Father’s Heart

And he will go on before the Lord, in the spirit and power of Elijah, to turn the hearts of the fathers to their children and the disobedient to the wisdom of the righteous–to make ready a people prepared for the Lord.” Luke 1:17

It wasn’t until I was older that I realized there was only one thing wrong between my Father and I – His heart.  It wasn’t for his children, it was against them.  See, Jesus’ word wasn’t hidden in my Father’s heart.  Oh, he called himself a Lutheran, but he never went to church.  (I never saw him read a Bible until just recently.)   He tried to go to church, but one time when he did go he overheard some Christian person say something  pretty mean about him.  (Satan is a liar and comes to steal, kill and, destroy)  Needless to say, he never went back.

I’ve discovered that my Dad has very sensitive feelings, but he hides them very well…all too well… with this mask of bullish authority.  As I’ve grown older I listen to my Dad with a maturing heart and I can tell from some of the things he says that he was hurt wounded deeply as a young man.  I feel sorry for my Dad.

Without the cross of Christ and the wisdom that comes from God’s word, we are all ignorant of the precious gifts of grace, mercy, faith, hope, love, and forgiveness.  After all, those words wouldn’t exist if they weren’t real.  I’m sure we all can remember a time when we experienced at least one of them?

I saw a beautiful Father thing the other day on facebook.  A Godly man talking about his child – His teenage son to be exact. He said…

This morning, my son woke up early and he asked me if we could go for a walk together. I can’t begin to express how much I love my son. I am so blessed to have a 15 year old son who chooses to hang out with me (his goofy dad). He knows me very well. He has seen me in my finest form and at my roughest moments. He notices when I am stressed and when I am at peace. Like my other kids, he is playing “…follow the leader” with dad, and what he sees me do in times of strength, peace, trial, and challenge will likely be his surest guide when his time comes. There is nothing he, or any of my children, could ever do to make me not love them. They are mine and I am theirs. And this love I have for my children brings me comfort and strength today, because it causes me to think of how our Father in Heaven loves us. If He is ours, then we are His. And nothing in Heaven or on Earth can separate us from His unconditional, unchanging affections.

“They are mine and I am theirs.”  That is the first time in my life that I have ever experienced a Father saying those words to his children except in maybe one other place…

 I am his and he is mine. Song of Songs 2:16

His words gave me a tiny glimpse of the vast love God the Father has for His Children.  For those who believe by the power of the Holy Spirit in Jesus’ name.

Do you want to know a cool thing that has been happening these last few years?  My Dad makes sure that during our Sunday visits together we all pray before we eat.  And we all pray in Jesus’ name.  If Jesus’ has a place in his mind then there’s always hope that He will grab hold of his heart and turn it.

How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!  1 John 3:1

Abba, Daddy, I belong to you, but how many times do I not remember that you belong to me, too?  What grace that you, God, would be so merciful and kind-hearted.  Thank you, Father, for your everlasting love, and the knowledge that I can experience even now that perfect Father/Daughter relationship, restored through repentance and forgiveness.  I pray my Dad would find that your heart is for him and not against him.  The cross is our proof.  In Jesus name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

