For crying out loud…GROW UP!!!

Adj. 1. gullible– naive and easily deceived or tricked; “at that early age she had been gullible and in love”

naif, naive – marked by or showing unaffected simplicity and lack of guile or worldly experience; “a teenager’s naive ignorance of life”; “the naive assumption that things can only get better”; “this naive simple creature with wide friendly eyes so eager to believe appearances”
2. gullible– easily tricked because of being too trusting; “gullible tourists taken in by the shell game”

unwary – not alert to danger or deception; “the shrieks of unwary animals taken by surprise”; “some thieves prey especially on unwary travelers”; “seduce the unwary reader into easy acquiescence”- O.J.Campbell

“Ephraim is like a dove, easily (gullible) deceived and senseless–now calling to Egypt, now turning to Assyria. Hsa 7:11

When I was younger and did something stupid my Mom would always say, “Grow up!”  I was never offended by those words.  They somehow gave me a strength and foundation that supported my maturing mind to higher things.  She just wanted me to be wise.

You who are simple, gain prudence; you who are foolish, gain understanding.  Proverbs 8:5

This past year the Lord has been teaching me on gullibility and prudence.  Two very key words to Christian maturity.  The sad part about these two traits are you don’t know you lack them until after they have been given to you. Then you start to get an inkling of just how ignorant you really are were.

“I, wisdom, dwell together with prudence; I possess knowledge and discretion. Proverbs 8:12

Oh, how ignorant I am was!!!  Oh, how I need the mind of Christ in this fallen dark and backwards world!!!

“For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.”  1 Cor 2:16

What I have learned is that the extreme trust I had in everyone and everything when I was younger the Lord has turned from weakness into strength.

By faith (their)…weakness was turned to strength; Hebrews 11:34

I believe that my extreme gullibility and imprudence as a child was an immature expression of the spiritual gifts of faith and knowing that the Lord is bringing to full maturity in me.

 

When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me.  1 Cor 13:11

Abba, Thank you for drawing me out of darkness!  May I nor anyone reading this prayer be trapped in the deceitfulness of gullibility and imprudence.  Free us to trust in no man, but only you, especially in these last days when many false Christs are rising up to deceive even the elect, Lord. Raise us to truly higher things.  Things of God.  In Jesus name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

