It is more blessed to receive DUCT TAPE!?!?!?

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning. James 1:17

My son (who is addicted to duct tape) celebrated his 16th birthday yesterday.  What an amazing day the Lord had planned for him!  I had no idea.

One blessing in particular sticks out in my mind this morning.  It is the gift of a Christian friend in whom I saw Jesus’ outstretched hand bearing generous birthday gifts to my son.

You see, a long time ago the Lord taught me through the loss of my husband’s job that a Christian needs humility to accept a gift offered.  So many people came into our lives at that time bearing spiritual gifts of encouragement, prayer, generosity, not to mention groceries and Christmas gifts.   Since God gives spiritual gifts to his people not only are we to graciously and generously bestow blessings on others, but we are to learn to humbly submit to the times that others want to bestow a blessing on us so that they have opportunity to use the gifts God has given them.

The evidence of the Spirit’s presence is given to each person for the common good of everyone.  The Spirit gives one person the ability to speak with wisdom. The same Spirit gives another person the ability to speak with knowledge.  To another person the same Spirit gives [courageous] faith. To another person the same Spirit gives the ability to heal.  Another can work miracles. Another can speak what God has revealed. Another can tell the difference between spirits. Another can speak in different kinds of languages. Another can interpret languages.  There is only one Spirit who does all these things by giving what God wants to give to each person.  1 Cor 12:7-11

Yesterday was one of those days.  A great 4-H/homeschool friend of mine – you know who you are – (with the spiritual gift of generosity) discovered it was my son’s birthday and she messaged me to see if she could get him a birthday cake.  I had not thought about celebrating his birthday at this particular meeting that just happened to fall on his birthday, but when I read her request I felt the Holy Spirit’s humility envelope me and I joyfully accepted her offer.  I am so glad I did.  I was blessed a hundred times over yesterday.

Let me explain.

When we got to the meeting my friend took me back in the kitchen and showed me this birthday cake that she had had made for my son.  It was huge!  It was beautiful!  It was from Monica’s!  It was duct tape!  What 16 years old boy would not absolutely love it?

But what was more beautiful were the tears in her eyes as she experienced the joy of giving and receiving.  I could tell that she was receiving more joy from the Lord than she had given.  She pointed out to me how much Jesus loved my son by all of the little intricacies and details the decorator put on his cake.

I am so glad God gave me the humility to accept her offer.  She was blessed.  My son was blessed.  I was blessed, and I continue to be blessed as I meditate on and give thanks for God’s goodness.

God will make you rich enough so that you can always be generous. Your generosity will produce thanksgiving to God because of us. 2 Cor 9:11

What would happen if we never learned to receive?

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–Ephesians 2:8

Oh Heavenly Father, what JOY! when we give and when we receive, but it is better by far to give just as you gave your Son.  Even as I pray, I sense Your joy as you gave your Son away on the cross, Lord.   He gave his entire life for us so that we would have eternal life in Him. What JOY!  Thank you, Jesus.  Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

