A “tested” tried and true CHRISTmas

The one thing a sarkie wants for Christmas is their next breath.  Breathing life is pretty precious and pretty important.   Most people take something as simple as breathing so for granted.  Those with the rare and relatively unresearched ‘sarcoidosis’ don’t.  They appreciate every breath that comes without panic pain or cough or wheezing.

I had a PFT yesterday – pulmonary function test – which is simply a series of breathing exercises that measure oxygen levels and breathing rhythms.  As I sat waiting for the testing to begin I found myself getting those “pre-test” jitters like in high school, except I wouldn’t be getting an A or E B on this one.  This kind of test is, although not important in that regard, very important in a different way.  This is a “life” test.  My PFT technician shared a comment with me about Jesus being our “Good Teacher” in “life.”

You know, I asked the Lord to teach me to number my days rightly so that I may gain a heart of wisdom.  I try to stay positive and think that every lung function test, every lab draw, every doctors visit is just an answer to that prayer.  Some days it’s not easy to be optimistic(?) in that way.  Some days for this fragile human are not easy when squarely faced with my own mortality.

But you know what?  God is the God of all comfort, and yesterday, when I was being shuffled from one test to another I was in the lab getting my blood drawn to check my electrolytes and calcium levels, and as I was sitting there, Christmas music was playing in the background.  All of a sudden there was this peaceful hush that came over the room and “Away in the Manger” started playing. I quietly sang along to it.

I noticed that my phlebotomist was wearing a pin that said “Merry Christmas” with the wise men on camels on it.  I felt peace.  And then, as I was leaving, she looked  deeply into my eyes with that “knowing” look and said, “You have a good Merry Christmas” and stressed the “Christ” part.  She held my hand just a little longer than the usual good bye hand shake.  She squeezed just a little more tightly, too.

If Jesus can (“if God can?”) give comfort and reassurance through strangers words, and looks and hand shakes, then He did it yesterday through U of M lab technicians.

My heavenly Father reminded me all over again (and don’t I need daily reminders all year long?) what Christmas is all about.

May the deepest hope that is contained in the Christmas mystery be yours today, tomorrow, and for the rest of your earthly life.  God bless you.  I say these things as I picture myself looking deeply into your eyes and holding your hand with just an extra firmness and confidence in Jesus Christ.

Something else to think about.  You know how at this time of year you always hear or see someone say, “Wise men still seek him?”  I read a scripture this morning that said,

 “I was found by those who did not seek me; I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me.” Romans 10:20

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

