Death of fear frees.

Teach me to number my days aright that I may gain a heart of wisdom.

When my husband was eleven years old a close playmate of his died.  It was a difficult time for him.  He didn’t go to school for a whole year because of it.  He has stuggled periodically over the years with this same issue, and as a result very rarely would go to any funeral.  Even close family relatives.

Last night he surprised me and faced that fear and went to a high school friend’s funeral.  This was a big step for him. 

We walked up to the casket to pay our respects, he stood there uncomfortably for a moment and then turned to me and whispered very honestly and openly, “I don’t want to have to go through this.” 

As he paid his condolences to the spouse he told her very honestly and openly, “When things like this happen it makes  you face your own mortality.”

When he got up to go to work this morning I told him how very proud I was of him for having faced his fear of death. 

We all feel this way at one time or another and it is okay. 

As my timely devotion this morning read:

In bringing many sons to glory it was fitting that God,  for whom and through whom everything exists, should make the author of their salvation perfect through suffering.  Both the one who makes men holy and those who are made holy are of the same family.  So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers.  He says, “I will declare your name to my brothers; in the presence of the congregation I will sing your praises.”  And again, “I will put my trust in him. ”  And again he says, “Here am I, and the children God has given me.”  Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might destroy him who holds the power of death – that is, the devil – and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death.  Hebrews 2:10-15

And

If the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. John 8:36

And

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life.  he who believes in me will live even though he dies, and whoever lives and believes in me will never die.  Do you believe this?”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nR7bBEBIC9g

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

