I long for…

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirst for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and glory.  Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you.  I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands.  My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.  On my bed I remember you;  I think of you through the watches of the night.  Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.  My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.  They who seek my life will be destroyed; they will go down to the depths of the earth.  They will be given over to the sword and become food for jackals.  But the king will rejoice in God; all who swear by God’s name will praise him, while the mouths of liars will be silenced.  Psalm 63

Well, I woke up early this morning….really early!   This has been a long week, and for an introvert this can add up to stress.  I’ve learned over the years to try to take a slower pace in life, keep calm and unruffled, and try not to do too much.  I’ve learned the warning signs of stress in my life.  I can tell when I’ve done too much because the skin on my forearms and upper legs starts to get this creepy crawly feeling.  I’ve learned when I start to feel that way I need to rest.  And not just a physical rest, although that helps.  I mean a spiritual rest.  I need the Word.  I desperately need the Word. 

As I was doing my devotion this morning I looked at my Bible and started to feel this overwhelming sense of sadness and loss.  I so much want the Word to just be a natural part of me.  I want God’s Word to be in me, to flow through me like this great calm peaceful river.  I desire to be united to God through His Son, Jesus, so much that sometimes I am just swept away with the longing…and the sadness at the fall that caused the division in the first place.

And then I am so thankful for Jesus.  I am thankful for my baptism.  I am thankful for my Lord’s life…His perfect life.  His holiness…Oh how I desire His holiness!  I am thankful that Jesus was a real man.  I am thankful that he is a real God.  I am thankful that He carried the cross for my shame.  I am thankful that He wants me.  I am thankful that I belong to Him.  I am so thankful for the gift of faith that He has placed within my heart.  I am so thankful that He is with me always, even to the end.

Jesus, flood me with you.  For in you is abiding peace, abiding calm, abiding, strength, abiding courage.  How amazing is this unseen world veiled from human sight.  Restore me, Lord God.  Renew me, Jesus.  I surrender.  I have no other hope.  You are my hope.  In your beautiful name I pray, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

