Why do I do what I do?

Have you ever asked yourself that question?

Do you know most people float through life without ever asking that question.   They have no foundation.  They do what they do because everyone else does it.  We pass down traditions, rituals,  and habits and rarely stop to ponder the emptiness of it all.

For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers…   1 Peter 1:18

I lived that way for 34 years.  I just did what I did because everyone else was doing it.  I never stopped to think why.  And that way of life led to a depression so deep and dark and ugly I cannot explain it.

It was in the midst of that deep darkness that I felt something stir way down in my heart.  A longing.  A desire.  A pull.  A drawing toward something.  I did not understand what I was feeling, but somehow I knew I would find it by going to church.

I sat in those pews six years until one day it all started to make sense.  I was sitting in Bible study when the Pastor asked this question, “Who was Jesus?  He was either a liar, a lunatic, or Lord.”  I felt something come alive in my heart.  I went home and opened my Bible.  Up to that point I had tried to read it and nothing made sense, but on that particular life-changing day I read,

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son, that whosoever believes in him will not perish but have everlasting life.”  John 3:16

When I read the word “believe” I can remember something happening inside of my mind.  It felt like it had been opened.  My eyes felt like scales had fallen off.  I suddenly gained a new understanding.  My life changed at that moment and has been changing ever since.

Then he opened their minds so they could understand the Scriptures. Luke 24:45

That day, I remember asking myself questions like, “Who is God?”  “Who is Jesus?” “Why am I going to church?”  “What is worship?” “Why do I do what I do?”  I finally had the answer in Jesus, the Christ.

A few years later I had the opportunity to share this with someone close to me.  I was trying to garner signatures to protect traditional marriage and when I asked this particular person if they would sign my petition, I was completely shocked and taken aback by their negative reaction.  Scorn and scathing persecution came at me like hot sizzling artillery shells.

In the midst of the barrage I remember asking this person all kinds of questions like, “Why do people get married?”  “Where did marriage come from?”  As I mentioned the Garden of Eden and that God walked with Adam and Eve in the garden and made clothes out of skin for them after they had sinned.  I particularly remember the blatant scorn in their voice as they sneeringly asked,  “GOD?” “SEWED?”

Near tears, I plowed on though and asked, “Why do we wear clothes?”  “Why do we do what we do?”  Until finally I saw I was getting no where and ran out of there.

In the safety and quietness of my van I broke down and sobbed.   As I started the ignition, the radio came on and I immediately heard the tender voice of Jesus Christ through the Christian radio host like a bright light breaking through the middle of a dark, severe storm.  The Spirit of the Living God spoke to my very heart,

“Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.”  Matthew 5:11

My soul was calmed, and I stopped and prayed earnestly for this very special person to come into a knowledge of the Truth.  Know what?  I was with this same person a week ago, and although we have never talked about that awful day so long ago, this person mentioned that Paul the apostle is easy to understand!

That’s why I do what I do!

Father God, Thank you for the gift of faith which has given me the ability to do what I do.  Thank you for Your Son, Jesus Christ, his death on a cross for the sin of the world, and his rising again.  Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

