M*A*S*H

We watched their anniversary special last night, and did we laugh!!!

I have a love/hate relationship with M*A*S*H.  I hate thinking about watching it, but then when I am watching it I find myself loving it.  smh.  I loved/hated it when I was in high school,  and I love/hate  it now.  I do love army green, though.  It’s a good color for me.

(I wish!)

I know the writers of the show wanted to highlight the horrors of war and peacefully protest it, but I think, unknowingly, this show also showed the “necessity” of war.  I think that was part of the reason it was so successful and long running.

Another reason I think it was so successful is because it perfectly portrayed the human condition and masterfully used the over undercurrent of humor to show survival techniques in the midst of what must have seemed some days like pure insanity.  And don’t we need humor nowadays?  I see many parallels.

One last reason I think  M*A*S*H was successful was that these doctors and nurses soldiers fought this war by bringing healing to not only there own people, but to the enemy as well.  Dare I say that that sounds like the essence of Christianity;  By the power of the Holy Spirit, we wield the surgical knife of the Word that at the same time cuts and heals both the believer and unbeliever?

“Come, let us return to the LORD. He has torn us to pieces but he will heal us; he has injured us but he will bind up our wounds. Hosea 6:1

I am not against war.  I am not necessarily for it either.  As a Christian in a fallen sinful world ruled by pride, ego, arrogance, deceitfulness, darkness and lies…I recognize war’s necessity.  I write to marines and pray for them, and I find that the marines I’ve written to who are currently fighting in active duty feel the same way.  Freedom will always have its enemies as long as this world endures.

I came across a really cool M*A*S*H verse in scripture this morning.

We faithfully preach the truth. God’s power is working in us. We use the weapons of righteousness in the right hand for attack and the left hand for defense. 2 Cor 6:7

I love that!  Our Father, The Lord of the Armies of Heaven, does not leave us defenseless in the realm of the enemy.

To arms!  And, if it’s your color, in army issue green!

But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved. Hebrews 10:39

Father God, thank you for raising up defenders of freedom, both physical and spiritual.  The Holy Spirit equips us in both realms to fight the wars that rage around us.  Both here on home turf, and on enemy turf.  May we effectively use the weapons for defense AND attack!  In Jesus’ name.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

