Pride

…comes before a fall.

My husband and I were talking about pride this morning.  Looking for wisdom and insight, I asked my spiritual leader him what he thought the opposite of pride was.  I expected him to say something like humility, but he took it one step farther and it made me stop and think.

“The opposite of pride would be,” he said, “submission.  No…more than submission…servant hood.”

But Samuel replied, “What is more pleasing to the LORD: your burnt offerings and sacrifices or your obedience to his voice? Listen! Obedience is better than sacrifice, and submission is better than offering the fat of rams. 1 Sam 15:22

So he got up from the table, removed his outer clothes, took a towel, and tied it around his waist.  Then he poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet and dry them with the towel that he had tied around his waist. When Jesus came to Simon Peter, Peter asked him, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet?”  Jesus answered Peter, “You don’t know now what I’m doing. You will understand later.”  Peter told Jesus, “You will never wash my feet.” Jesus replied to Peter, “If I don’t wash you, you don’t belong to me.”  Simon Peter said to Jesus, “Lord, don’t wash only my feet. Wash my hands and my head too!”  Jesus told Peter, “People who have washed are completely clean. They need to have only their feet washed. All of you, except for one, are clean.”  Jesus knew who was going to betray him. That’s why he said, “All of you, except for one, are clean.”)  After Jesus had washed their feet and put on his outer clothes, he took his place at the table again. Then he asked his disciples, “Do you understand what I’ve done for you?  You call me teacher and Lord, and you’re right because that’s what I am.  So if I, your Lord and teacher, have washed your feet, you must wash each other’s feet.  I’ve given you an example that you should follow.  I can guarantee this truth: Slaves are not superior to their owners, and messengers are not superior to the people who send them.  If you understand all of this, you are blessed whenever you follow my example.              John 13:4-17

Jesus, thank you for the gift of faith.  It breaks down the barriers of pride.  Only the humble heart can admit that there is a God.  There is even pride in saying that, Lord!  I can not get away from this sinful pride which is in me!  Humility bears the fruit of submission and obedience.  I do not serve others very well, Lord.  Not near as much as I should.  God help me!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

