Do you like your name?

Todd Agnew
New Name lyrics

I was born with no chance at life
Dead before I took my first breath
I was born with no family ties
Alone before I knew where I lived
They called me broken, worthless, and a shame
They called me wasted, used up, and chained
But You made me Your child
And You called me Your own
Now they can call me
But they’ve got to use my new name
I walked miles and couldn’t find a home
There was no place that I belonged
I walked for days and days and weeks and years
Couldn’t find a melody for my song

I don’t need money, I don’t need fame
I don’t need the love that this world can bring
I don’t need this prison, I don’t need these chains
I needed a Father, and Child is my new name

______________________________________

I used to hate my name!

6th grade especially!

As a matter of fact I completely changed my first name in 6th grade.  I made everybody call me by my middle name.  It felt good for a year to be known by a new name.  It was clean and pure and unsullied.

I think it came from the fact that the majority of the time I heard anybody call my name it was always in anger.

I came to hate that which signified anger.

And then one day I heard and listened to a different call.  A deeper call…a soul call.  I heard my name being called with pure and perfect love.  It was not an audible voice, but I still heard it.

How can you help but not hear the Voice of Love when it calls your name?

Twelve years ago I heard Jesus’ call, but it was just recently I realized that that same Voice of Love is the One who named me the name I’ve hated all these years.  At my baptism as an infant The Lord Jesus named me and claimed me as His own.  He called me out of darkness into His glorious Light!

The nations will see your righteousness, and all kings your glory; you will be called by a new name that the mouth of the LORD will bestow. Isaiah 62:2

Somehow, I have a new perspective on my name.

I’m even kind of starting to like it.  Especially its deeper meanings which are “Serene Spirit” and “Beloved”.

I’m also looking forward to a new name.

He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give him a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to him who receives it. Rev 2:17

Him who overcomes I will make a pillar in the temple of my God. Never again will he leave it. I will write on him the name of my God and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which is coming down out of heaven from my God; and I will also write on him my new name.  Rev 3:12

Father God,  Thank you for sending us your Word.  In it we can put our complete trust and faith.  Your promises stand sure forever because Jesus, you are the Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, unchanging, the same yesterday, today, and forever. Our name is sealed by the Holy Spirit at baptism in You and no one can break the seal of God.  In Your Name, Jesus. Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

