That rainbow-wigged John 3:16 guy at the sporting events

Do you remember him?  Has anyone seen him lately?  I don’t watch that many sporting events and the ones I do watch, I haven’t seen him at.

I asked my husband this morning if he remembered the day we were watching years ago when we saw him.  He was wearing a big rainbow afro wig and had a big white sign (pre white T-shirt) that he was holding up, and it was either a football game, tennis match, or a hockey game.

.

I can remember saying, “Let’s see what verse that is.” and going and getting a Bible and looking it up.  I can distinctly remember reading it, and I distinctly remember it not registering.  At that time in our life we didn’t believe and the words meant nothing to us.  We just thought he was some kooky religious guy.

I can measure my growth just by my reaction to that verse.  I said it to myself slowly this morning…pondering every word and letting them sink into my heart deeply…

“For  God  so  loved  the  world  that he  gave  his  only  Son  that  whosoever  believes  in  him  will  not  perish  but  have  eternal  life.”

It penetrated down into the deep layers of my heart that God didn’t just give us any human being, that would have been valuable enough!  No, he GAVE us his ONLY SON – true human, true God!

As I felt those words penetrate deeper and deeper as I meditated on them in my heart, I started to cry.

One word comes to mind…grace.

One lesson comes to mind…never dismiss the foolish and ridiculous.  God might be trying to tell you something.

But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. 1 Cor 1:27

Jesus, I am weak and foolish, and now I understand the joy and happiness I see in that rainbow-wigged John 3:16 guy.  He’ll be an interesting character to talk to in Heaven.  Thank you, Lord God.  Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That rainbow-wigged John 3:16 guy at the sporting events

  1. Mary Brown says:

    The rainbow wig guy’s name escapes me (Roland?) but he became a friend of my parents back in the 80’s. He was everywhere. Roland had substance abuse issues but overcame them and found a life at sporting events. My parents convinced him to visit their home town and give a motivational talk. He did and was wonderful. My parents are agnostic. Roland was “born again”. Interesting friendship they had.

    Alas, it didn’t last. Roland fell off the wagon and got in big trouble in LA and got sent to jail for a long time.

    I wish I remembered or knew the whole story.

  2. lifevine says:

    Thanks, Mary, for that information. It’s always interesting to hear about someone firsthand. I had read a news article that he had gotten in trouble, but never knew for sure. Good to hear from you! God bless you and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

