Does God really speak to us?

Yesterday, yes, even despite the rain, my husband asked me before he left for work if our son and I would take the recycling and drop it off, and while there stop at the cemetery and put the rest of the fall decorations out on my Mom’s grave.

It was raining for pities sake!!!  Couldn’t he see that?  But I reluctantly said yes, anyways.

On the way out there my son asked if we could drive by our old home that we had moved away from almost 3 years ago.  I didn’t say anything at the time but after we finished unloading all the recycling (in the rain) and he offering to put the decorations out on the grave (in the rain) I asked my son if he was still interested in driving by the old house (in the rain)?  He said he was.

As we turned the corner onto our old street I looked over at him and said, “It still feels like coming home whenever we turn this corner.”  and as we nostalgically drove by our old address my son excitedly pointed to the radio.  The Christian radio DJ was just saying, “…taking a stroll down memory lane.”

My son and I both caught it.  Did you catch it?  I call it one of those God-coincidences.  My heart was quickened to the DJ’s voice and I felt as if heaven had opened up and Jesus himself was affirming our  journey that day.  My heart was moved deeply and it brought tears to my eyes.   I couldn’t help but think that my not necessarily willing obedience to my husband’s errand request may have had something to do with this wonderful blessing from Jesus.

Yes God really speaks to us, especially if we’re obedient and listening.  And if you can’t hear him in the coincidences then just open up your Bible and read His Word and believe!

A few verses of scripture come to mind when thinking about all this:

What is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? Psalm 8:4

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

and

…the LORD… is intimate with the upright. Proverbs 3:32

I’m posting the following video for the song, not the video content….it’s the only one I could find of Bob Bennet’s “Small Graces” which is what our ‘stroll down memory lane’ reminded me of:

Heavenly Father,  2,000 years ago you sent your Son to live the perfect life we could not, to die on a cross for our sin, and to rise again.   I am amazed and in awe that Jesus is even now bodily sitting at the right hand of God in Heaven awaiting the day of His return.  I am also amazed that you would take an interest in us while we walk, or in this case stroll, here on earth.  Thank you for revealing yourself to your little children.  In your name, Lord, Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

