Reason is a what???!!!!

I read a quote by Martin Luther once and I won’t repeat it here but if you want to you can look it up on your own….just do a search for Martin Luther’s quotes on “reason” and you should be able to figure out what I’m referring to.

I listen to a Christian conservative on the radio often, and, although I admire the way he defends Jesus and the Bible, I just don’t understand how he can claim Christianity is a logical and reasonable faith.  If we chose faith then I could understand, but we don’t.  How can we?  The Bible says we are dead, deaf, blind, dumb, shackled, bound, in dark.  Dead men can’t choose anything.  Slaves sitting in the deepest darkest dungeons bound in strong irons can’t choose anything.  Jesus chooses us, we don’t choose him.  Even a cursory reading of the Holy Scriptures points to the fact that we cannot by our own power come into any faith, knowledge, or understanding of the Divine.  They must be gifts given.

Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God…not logic or reason.

The Power of Resurrection can bring new life.  What logic or reason is there in that?  Do dead men physically come alive all the time?  No!  Did Lazarus choose to come out of the grave?  No!  It definitely is of the miraculous when it happens.

Logic?  Reason?

Do you read the Bible?  If you’ve read it do you understand it?  If you understand it do you recognize the miracle of faith given so that you can understand?  Faith?  It comes from God!

FROM GOD!

I am so glad that In the Beginning was the Word.  It all starts there.  If I thought that my faith rested on some prayer I recited, or the date I made a commitment, or the moment I walked forward, or any work I do I would have given up long ago.  But my faith rests on the sure and eternal promise of God’s Word.  And He can’t lie.

Anybody can believe in something reasonable or logical.  If it were reasonable or logical it wouldn’t take faith to believe it.

As Psalm 107:14 clearly says  “He brought them out of darkness and the deepest gloom and broke away their chains.”

Jesus, we fall down at your feet in praise when we realize that absolutely NOTHING we have done, will do, or can do saves us.  Only you, Lord.  Only you.  Wonderful amazing beautiful grace.  Amen!!!

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

