Angel prayer?

There have been several life-altering fatal accidents in our area lately.  It seems to be an inordinate number of very sad tragedies.  As I was praying with my husband this morning they came to mind.  It made me think of our angels that Jesus sends to protect us at all times….ministering spirits, the Bible calls them.

What comes to mind are the Angels that are recorded to have ministered to Jesus in the desert and in the Garden of Gethsemane.

As I continued praying I heard myself for the first time say to Lord Jesus, ” I pray for my angel today…”

I stopped in mid prayer.

Do we pray for our angel?  Can we pray for our angel?  Are we suppose to pray for our angel?  I could not think of any scriptural support for doing so, but nothing came to mind that says we can’t.  So I finished my prayer, “Bless our guardian angels that watch over us, Lord.”

As I prayed this, my husband gave out a long sigh of peace.  He only does this during prayer when God’s Spirit touches him in a deep way.  I’m going to take that as a sure sign that is was okay to pray for our guardian angels, and continue to ponder that question as I search the scriptures for any answers.

In the meantime all this talk about angels reminds me of one of the most comforting passages in scripture, “The Lord will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge;  his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.  You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day. Psalm 91:4-5

Father God, I pray for those who have been hurt, and the families of those who have been killed in the recent tragedies in our area.  Just as you send your Holy Angels to minister to us, I pray that you would minister to them at this time through your ministering Spirits.  I pray Psalm 91 over them and ask that you, God, bless them and empower each and every one.  And keep us centered and focused on the cross of Christ.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Angel prayer?

  1. Donna Curtis says:

    May our mighty God bless and keep you, Amy. He goes to any lengths to call those who are lost and you are evidence of that. He surely has plans for you. I know we will meet one day in Heaven. Until then, keep on believing Him!
    Donna

    • lifevine says:

      Hi Donna, He is a Mighty God!!! Amen. And as I grow in Christ, I realize how many people have lost their lives for the furtherance of the gospel. Amazing to me that our lives are so precious that he would give others in exchange for our life. Most importantly he gave Jesus. Good to hear from you, Donna. Thanks for reading and believing. See you one day! Amy

Leave a Reply

