That God-shaped hole?

I keep hearing that there’s a God-shaped hole in us that only He can fill, like if I drank one glass of water that would slake my thirst forever.   To say it this way implies that we are bigger than God and the emptiness is smaller than our whole self, and that we have to fill ourselves with God, and that the little bit of Him filling this God-shaped hole will make us complete.  Sounds like that would appeal to our innate original sinful desire to control and be God, but it also sounds like there’s something still missing.

It might be more accurate to say that there is a place in God for us… and maybe, just maybe we have to be born again in Him.  But who is God and how does that happen?  It begins at a “cross” roads.  You will never be fully complete until you confront that cross in the road.

Jesus lived.  Jesus died on a cross.  Jesus rose again!  Believe and be born again!

Stranger on the Shore - Michael Card
In the early morning mist
They saw a Stranger on the sea shore
He some how seemed familiar
Asking what the night had brought
With taught anticipation then
They listen to His order
And pulling in the net
Found more than they had ever caught
The one He loved first recognized
The stranger there was Jesus
And he alone remembered
This had happened once before
The one who had denied Him
Who had once walked on the water
Jumped in and swam to Him
To be confronted on the shore
Chorus
You need to be confronted
By the Stranger on the shore
You need to have Him search your soul
You need to hear the call
You need to learn exactly
What it means for you to follow
You need to realize that He's asking for your all
The meal He had prepared for them
Was waiting on the fire
The smell of bread
The sizzle of the fish upon the coals
The laughter and the joy
That once more being all together
They didn't realize that He was searching all their souls
Then came the painful questions
That would pierce the soul of Simon
A three fold chance to reaffirm the love he had denied
The gentle eyes that saw his heart
And waited for an answer
Had seen the look upon his face
The moment he had lied
Chorus
Now realize that you must
Face and answer all His questions
As you stand before the Stranger
On the shore inside your heart

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  Father, I look back and I see fallen me.  I stand at the cross and see You, God.  I look forward as a new creation into eternity, all because of Your grace in the gift of faith, and baptismal waters, Lord Jesus.  May I never look back again.  Thank you for washing away my sin, and filling me with Living Water.    He who believes in You will never die, but live, Lord.  He who believes in You will never thirst again.  In Jesus name, Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

