From here to eternity

The cross confronts us with eternity.

I have many times pondered the thought of eternal life.  And literally frankly, it has scared the hell out of me.  A facebook friend’s post yesterday got me thinking again about the eternal.  I know we all know that we are going to live forever (He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end-Ecc 3:11.)   Somewhere down deep in our hearts, we have been given this knowledge.  We may not recognize it as such, but still…we know.

Eternity.

What a long word.  My mind cannot wrap around the concept.  My sinful, fallen, darkened mind cannot even begin to understand or imagine what this must mean.  All I can think of is eternity from a sinner’s perspective.  And that perspective is enough to cause fear in any sane individual.  I can’t and don’t want to imagine an eternity of the same old horrible near hell on earth stuff we experience here let alone the glimpses of hell we get in Holy scripture…

…but then there’s the cross….

…and then my thoughts are captured by these verses in 2 Corinthians 2…

“While I was with you, I decided to deal with only one subject–Jesus Christ, who was crucified.  When I came to you, I was weak. I was afraid and very nervous.  I didn’t speak my message with persuasive intellectual arguments. I spoke my message with a show of spiritual power  so that your faith would not be based on human wisdom but on God’s power.  However, we do use wisdom to speak to those who are mature. It is a wisdom that doesn’t belong to this world or to the rulers of this world who are in power today and gone tomorrow.  We speak about the mystery of God’s wisdom. It is a wisdom that has been hidden, which God had planned for our glory before the world began.  Not one of the rulers of this world has known it. If they had, they wouldn’t have crucified the Lord of glory.  But as Scripture says: “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him.” God has revealed those things to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches everything, especially the deep things of God.”

…and this scripture was more than likely written by an eye witness to eternity! (See 2 Corinthians 12:2)

I love today’s song for many reasons.  One of them being that when the sinner singer (Mercy Me’s Bart Millard) starts singing I can hear fear, frailty, and humanity in his voice.  When he hits the verse, “Surrounded by your glory…” his voice starts to take on a different quality; a higher dimension that frees the heart and soul and mind to fly upwards, lost found in Christ.

Jesus, a good friend once shared with me that she had heard “for the unbeliever earth is as close to heaven as they will ever get, but for the believer earth is as close to hell as they will ever get.”  Thank you for the gift of faith that has enabled me to believe in you, Jesus!  I can’t ever thank you enough, Lord.  Faith alone will see me through to eternity with you, and in the presence of peace, The Prince of Peace,  there will be no fear of or for eternity!  Amen!

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

