Can I have an example please!

I learn by visual example.  In other words, I am a sight learner.

I can remember when I was in elementary school the perfect craft project would always come with a pre-made example.  If it didn’t…I was lost.  I would scratch my head in puzzlement, and wait until someone else started their project before I would start mine.  Just so I could see what to do.

Yesterday at the fair, I was in charge of the free kid’s game at our outreach tent.  It is a wheel with numbers on it.  The victim contestant selects a number, says it out loud,  and then spins the wheel.  If the number they selected lands on the arrow they win the grand prize.  If it doesn’t they get a consolation prize.

As the children came up to the wheel and I explained the game to them I could see the different styles of learning in action.  Some would listen intently to the directions and do what the game required (auditory.)  Some would spin the wheel without selecting a number and then embarrassingly stop the wheel to start over (kinesthetic.)  Some would try to pull the arrow off the board instead of spin the pegs (not sure what learning style that is,) and some would just stand their with that puzzled look on their face until I gave them a detailed physical descriptive example of what to do (sight.)  Many of them were hesitant to try because they just weren’t sure, but that didn’t stop them from playing the game.

I could tell who the more advanced visual learners were because they would stand back and watch for a round or two before stepping forward to play. They are, what I would call, the ‘experienced sight learners.’

People are watching:

Titus 2:7 says,  “Always set an example by doing good things. When you teach, be an example of moral purity and dignity.  Speak an accurate message that cannot be condemned.”

This scripture makes me think of my example to others.  Can they look at me and see that I practice what I preach?  As a follower of Christ I pray and ask the Holy Spirit to enable me to be a good witness to the “experienced sight learner.”

For those who have watched me and noticed that I have failed miserably.  Do not condemn or dismiss me.  Look to the example I look to…

  • 1 Timothy 1:16 says “However, I was treated with mercy so that Christ Jesus could use me, the foremost sinner, to demonstrate his patience. This patience serves as an example for those who would believe in him and live forever.”

Jesus, thank you for your word, for faith comes by hearing.  Thank you for your example, so we can learn by looking to you.  Enable our bodies to do what you would have them do to serve you.  You are the Greatest Teacher.  Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can I have an example please!

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love this. I love the last Bible verse. I couldn’t find it though as written….is its reference supposed to be 1 Timothy 1:16?

    • lifevine says:

      Yes, Jennifer it is. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. I originally had 2 scriptures and when I deleted the one I left the wrong number for the verse in its place. This is from GOD’S WORD translation. A Pastor told me this was one of the best translations. Thank you for reading and commenting. God bless you immensely!

Leave a Reply

