Unholy, unholy, unholy!

Faith comes by hearing.

Last evening I was at the fair with some friends telling others the good news about Jesus Christ.  I had some cross necklaces (among other Christian symbols) and would ask the kids if they wanted a free necklace.  When their eyes lit up and they said, “YES!”  I would hand it to them and make them promise me that they would be in heaven with me some day.

Truthfully, The burden of that promise haunted me as I woke up this morning thinking about how totally awesome it will be on that day in Jesus’ presence when I will see all those beautiful children there.  As I was thinking this I could hear the angels singing, “Holy, holy, holy…”

My unholy, unholy, unholy heart was struck anew with the wonder and humility of it all.  Just a bunch of sweaty, hot, sinnin’ fair go-ers permitted into heaven by the grace and merit of an awesome God through the gift of faith that only He can give.  Not because I’ve done good things, not because I tell others about Him, not because of a decision or choice I’ve made, not because I go to church, or read my Bible, or  have a religious relative, but simply because He has given me faith to believe.

Ephesians 2:8 says, “God saved you through faith as an act of kindness. You had nothing to do with it. Being saved is a gift from God.”

No wonder the song we’ve been given a hint at is what it is…

Father God, I place in your hands the burden for these little children’s souls.  I pray that in your time and your working you would allow the seeds planted yesterday to bloom into wonderful, solidly rooted mighty oak trees planted completely in your word.  In Jesus name, and only because of him, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

