7 X 70 = ?

Would you believe….4200?  LOL.  That’s what I did – LOL – when someone I know….I won’t mention any names because it might bring my teaching skills into question…..answered that way last night.  Let me explain further:

I think the heat finally got to my husband last night.  Break out the boxing gloves.  He was ‘o r n e r y!‘  When he gets ‘o r n e r y!’ he tends to exasperate his child.   Last night he did that very thing by verbally goading him and purposely sitting in the chair that his son always sits in (do men ever grow up?)

A test of testosterone ensued…is that why it’s called “test”osterone.

Funny thing is my husband came to me afterward looking for support!  Ha!  Ain’t gonna’ happen.  I’m of the “you made your own bed now you lie in it” persuasion.  No sympathy here.  Uh-uh.  No way.  Not after putting up with this same crap being married almost 25 years.

Time slowly weeds out stupidity until only wisdom remains.

(I feel a strong need to mention that I would have given my husband 100% complete support if I felt that my son was in any way responsible for what had happened.)

After all of the hullabaloo, my son and I were talking in a separate room and my son said, “I feel like I need to go apologize to Dad for my reaction.”  All I said to him was, “7 x 70 times.” (Hence the Unmentioned’s answer,  “That’s something like 4200 times, right?”)

Despite my son’s not so crazy-smart math skills, he did not start the argument last night.  He was wise and articulate, purposeful and polite despite the opposition he was encountering, even while having to defend himself.  And still, after all the dust had died down,  he desired reconciliation with his Father.

(By the way, my husband did apologize contritely.)

This scripture immediately comes to mind, “Whoever is a believer in Christ is a new creation. The old way of living has disappeared. A new way of living has come into existence.  God has done all this. He has restored our relationship with him through Christ, and has given us this ministry of restoring relationships.  In other words, God was using Christ to restore his relationship with humanity. He didn’t hold people’s faults against them, and he has given us this message of restored relationships to tell others.  Therefore, we are Christ’s representatives, and through us God is calling you. We beg you on behalf of Christ to become reunited with God.” 2 Cor 5

Then Peter came to Jesus and asked him, “Lord, how often do I have to forgive a believer who wrongs me? Seven times?”  Jesus answered him, “I tell you, not just seven times, but seventy times seven. Matthew 18:21-22

Thankfully, God’s math is perfect:

Jesus,  I’m thankful that YOU did what it took to make it right.  We don’t have to reach up and pull forgiveness down and wrap ourselves in it.   Otherwise we would be working our way up to you.  Rather, YOU made a way.  You CAME down to fallen man (dead in our sins) when we didn’t even know that we needed you and YOU wrapped us in your forgiveness.  You are truly a giving and forgiving God.  Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

