WATCH OUT!

We almost got in an accident yesterday.  Our city can be a little confusing with all the one way streets, railroad crossings, and back alleys.  We were on a main road with the right of way, but my husband had to slow way down for a set of bumpy railroad tracks he was about to cross.  There is a road that parallels the tracks and it, of course, has a stop sign.

We don’t know what the woman was thinking (can you think while you’re on a CELL PHONE AND DRIVING?) but she drove right through the stop sign and just about nailed us in the passenger (that would be me) side of our van. Didn’t she see the SIGN?

I screamed, “WATCH OUT!”

My husband gave her the old evil eye as we narrowly rolled by, and in the midst of my own brash rant I remembered to bless her (“GOD BLESS YOU LADY WHO ALMOST HIT US WHILE TALKING ON YOUR D*&# CELL PHONE!”)  I even asked Jesus out loud, “Does it count when I say it LIKE THAT?”  (God, I hope so.)

In the back seat my teenage son cacklingly (is that a word), tongue-in-cheek, says to her, “A curse be upon you!” in his best wizard voice.  And in my head I’m asking God, “Does it count when he says it LIKE THAT?  God forbid.”

The point of my blog (besides showing how utterly depraved and sinful we I really am) this morning is this:  How are we going to see the signs if we are too busy, or too oblivious?

Honestly!

That reminds me of some recent verbal “collisions” I’ve had with people that make me feel like I did yesterday when we almost got in an accident.   Words like, “too focused”,  “too hedged in”, and “loosen up.” careen around inside my head and  collide with the very words of the precious Lord and Savior that I know.

Don’t they know?  Can’t they see the signs?  WATCH OUT!

“Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies.”

“Therefore you do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed.”

“But by faith we eagerly await through the Spirit the righteousness for which we hope.”

“But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ.”

“Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day–and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.”

But the day of the Lord will come like a thief.  Then with a tremendous roar the heavens will pass away, the elements will be dissolved with fire, and the earth and the works in it will be burned up.  Since all these things are to be dissolved in this manner how consecrated and reverent (uh-oh) your behavior should be, as you are expecting and speeding the coming of the day of the Lord.

Oh God, you are my God!  My body longs for you!  My soul thirsts for you in a dry and weary land where there is no water!  When can I go and meet with my God?  Better yet!   How long, Oh Lord, before your great and glorious return!  At least it will be great and glorious for those who love you and long for your appearing – for those who WATCH OUT!  Maranatha!  Come! Lord Jesus, Come!  Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

