“Yes girl!”

I’m in that in-between stage right now of being shell-shocked and recovery.  It’s really not that bad, but still, let me explain…

I went to my Father’s house yesterday to pray with my good and Godly friend.   We have summer outreach events scheduled for the neighborhood and a prayer covering is vital.

As we were praying in the chapel, our wonderful VBS Director/teacher went walking by, saw us, and did an abrupt about face.  Uh oh.  She came in and said she had been looking for my phone number.   What a coincidence! Not!

After we finished praying we went down to her classroom to talk to her and she told me that she had a job for me for VBS.  I wasn’t planning on having an official VBS job this year, but I’ve learned, as a Child of God, I don’t rely on my plans for my life.  My life is in Jesus Christ, and he has called me to obedience.  If I am to walk in the Holy Spirit I have to be available to drop everything and respond to the open doors that He presents.  Especially if my heart is tugging at me to do it rather than running and screaming in the opposite direction!  (I have learned the hard way that Christians don’t have to say yes to everything that is asked of them-their heart will let them know the difference between a yes and a no.)

In this case my heart was tugging at me.  My flesh was not liking it, though.  I have to be honest.  I did not feel it wanting to cooperate at first.  It was acting like a stubborn old mule.  And what makes it worse is it will pounce on any little excuse and expound on it to try to justify its position.  It is at a point like this in a Christian’s faith where the rubber meets the road.

After talking about it, looking through the materials, and asking lots of questions I left feeling better.  As I was driving home, though, the Lord really worked on my heart.  When I am told I will be doing something like teaching Bible passages to little children how can I look my Savior in the face and say ‘no’ to him?  How can I look those little children in the face with half of them probably never having even heard the name of Jesus?  How can I say ‘no’ knowing that I lived half of my life never having anyone tell me about the good news of Jesus Christ.  How can I say ‘no’ and miss the blessing of eternal rewards?  My heart was so overcome with gratitude at the thought of Jesus, His death on the cross, and His rising to life that I couldn’t help but say yes to Him!

And even as I write this the Lord is bringing to my mind a conversation I had with another good and Godly friend earlier that morning, as she told me she had taught her 3 year old daughter to be a “yes girl!”  Her daughter had just come up to me and asked me if I were a “yes girl!” and I had told her “Yes!”

How appropriate that conversation with her was to me later that day.  I’m glad I’m God’s “yes girl!”   I’m glad that through the power of His Holy Spirit working in me I can say “Yes!”  On my own I never would have.

Offer all the parts of your body to God. Use them to do everything that God approves of…because you’re not controlled by laws, but by God’s favor… Don’t you know that if you offer to be someone’s slave, you must obey that master?   Either your master is sin, or your master is obedience. Letting sin be your master leads to death. Letting obedience be your master leads to God’s approval…Freed from sin, you were made slaves who do what God approves of…offer all the parts of your body as slaves that do what God approves of. This leads you to live holy lives…The payment for sin is death, but the gift that God freely gives is everlasting life found in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Father, before knowing and believing in Jesus I had no hope.  Life was useless and meaningless.  Thank you so much for the gift of faith.  How precious it is.  Your word explains everything and it makes me be able to say “yes” in a “no” world.  Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

