Treasure hunting?

When my son was just a wee little lad his eyes would light up at the mention of pirates and treasure hunting and anything with swashbuckling adventure!  They still do!  I had a strong urge one day to take him on a treasure hunting quest.  We prayed before we left that Jesus would help us to find a mighty treasure.   We found two twenty dollar bills along side the road that day!  I will never forget it.

One day in the not too distant past we tried geocaching –  treasure hunting via GPS.  We weren’t very good at it.  As a matter of fact, we never found one even though we tried multiple times.

I woke up this morning thinking about treasure.  In this world if we find treasure we can see it and feel it and, if it’s gold or precious jewels and metal,  even hear it.  It has immediate earthly value.  In God’s world it is just the exact opposite.  We have a treasure inside of us…God’s word.   We will not fully know or understand its value till we reach heaven, and others surely do not know about it or they would be begging us to share our treasure with them.  When we do share it it is usually spurned as a useless trinket.

Not many people treasure hunt for words, but let me be the first to tell you, if those words are God-breathed, then they are more valuable than any gold or silver or jewel.  Even more valuable than two twenty dollar bills found on the side of a road by a treasure-hunting Momma and son.

I challenge you to go treasure hunting in The Holy Bible today and look up all the words that have to do with “treasure”.  I think your eyes will light up!

Here is a poem I wrote when my son was a wee little lad sitting at our kitchen table studying a VBS treasure map…

TREASURE MAP

Six years old, he sat at the table, as head bent in deep concentration,

He pondered the ambitious prospect of finding treasure beyond his wildest expectation.

Childish dreams of shining silver and gold, treasure chests overflowing,

Sailing high seas to deserted islands, where pirates in ages past had been going.

His eyes followed the trail on the map and noticed where X marked the spot,

His fingers tracing the imaginary route, over and over he followed those dots.

Noticing mountains and valleys along the way, warnings of pitfalls and snares,

Clues pointing in the right direction, still many had passed the spot unaware.

“Mommy, if I follow this treasure map, will I find gold one day?  If I don’t ever give up looking, will I be rich in every way?”

Noticing the Bible near his map I couldn’t help but notice the correlation.

“The cross is the X, child, and Jesus is your Treasure of Life and Salvation.”

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

