I doubt it.

Our family likes to quote movies.  I blogged a little about that yesterday.  One of our favorite quotes at the moment is from Jeff Goldblum’s character ‘Ian’ in the Jurassic Park “Lost World” movie.  It’s from the part of the movie where he and the redhead are in the car with the baby T-Rex trying to get it to the harbor.  He’s driving and she’s in the back seat holding the T-Rex telling him to slow down a little.  He turns around, sees the Momma T-Rex right on their tail and comically says, “Uhhh….I don’t think so.” And then guns it, zooming away.

Sometimes doubting someone is a good thing.  But for the Christian doubt it like a cloudy day.

When I’m around Christians who are doubting, the Holy Spirit will empower me with faith to (hopefully) be an encouragement to them, and help pick them up and carry them along.  When I’m around unbelievers the exact opposite happens.  I hear their unbelief and then I start to doubt, and feel as if I’m losing my footing.  I’m not sure if this comes from having lived in darkness for most of my life, or if this is just a normal occurrence for the follower of Christ.  I do believe it is spiritual warfare with the buffeting I sometimes take.

As I was meditating on this I had a vision of a race.  The believers are all heading in the same direction, and once in while an unbeliever will make an appearance.  Unfortunately they are not heading in the same direction, so they tend to get in the way of the runners and trip them up.  They either cross in front of them blocking their path, or they run against the narrow line of runners, running into them and sometimes knocking them down.  Some even take the time to set trip lines.  It can be a frustrating part of the course.

I was reading Hebrews this morning and the Lord opened up my eyes even further as I read, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

What this shows me is that every believer that has gone before us surrounds us with  encouragement.  They are rooting us on because they are alive with Christ.  We have them for an example of great faith.  It is also encouraging to know that the path is marked out for us.  Jesus has already gone before us and taken care of everything, and He finished the race despite much opposition from sinful men.

When I am doubting I remember that faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God. So I park myself in scripture and that helps me gun it and zoom away!

I’m fixing my eyes on the finish line and praying I finish well.  C’mon Christian!  Run with me!

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

