God sewed?

I hate sewing!  I really do.  I have hated it from the moment I had to make a stupid apron in home-ec class.  Sorry JR, but that’s just the way it is.  There is something about the thread!  It gets all tangled up on me, and when I’m in the midst of a project, I feel like I’m caught in a spider’s web!  I don’t like that feeling, therefore I don’t sew if I can help it.

My Godfather, Jack, gave me my Godmother’s (Jean) sewing machine after she passed on, and I loved it.  I loved the fact that he would think of me.  I tried to use it, dang I did!  And one day I even went so far as to sit down and label everything on it so that I would understand it better.  Do you know how it rewarded me?  It seized up on me that very day!  Last week I finally gave it to a scrap metal guy raising money scrapping so he can have a vacation with his kids.

Another friend gave me a sewing machine after my Godmother’s seized up.  It was an old behemoth White (it was actually black) and weighed 100 pounds, but the cabinet was lovely!  It was a single stitch….I’m talking old, old school.  And it was okay for sewing up my husband’s ripped britches, but it messed up on me, too.

Sewing machines don’t like me as much as I don’t like sewing.

Talking about sewing reminds me of a time a few years back when I was witnessing to someone about Jesus.  It was an unexpected persecution from an unexpected person that surprised me broadside when I told them in the midst of our conversation that God sewed clothes for Adam and Eve in the garden.

This (baptized and confirmed in the Lutheran Church) person looked at me like I was the stupidest person on the planet, tried to plant me in the ground with her eyes, and sarcastically said to me, “God SEWED clothes?”  It wasn’t really a question….more like using the word “SEWED” to rip me to shreds.  I had that feeling of being stuck in a spider web again.

I very calmly said, “Yes.”keeping in mind what Genesis 3:21 says, “Then the Lord God made clothes out of animal skins (the first animal -lamb?- sacrifice) for the man and his wife.”

Why is it so easy for some people to believe that Jesus was born in the flesh and died on a cross, and rose again, but when you mention Genesis where Moses recorded that God walked with Adam and Eve in the garden and made clothes for them, they go ballistic?  Don’t they realize that they are One and the Same God?  Or do they just want to suppress the truth?

You know what the amazing thing about all of this was?  The blessing that followed.  Let me explain.  When I ran like hell to get away left that encounter, I immediately got in my van, crying like all get out,  and started the engine.  The radio came on and the Holy Spirit the host (God bless Christian radio) was speaking these very words at that very moment,  “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you, lie, and say all kinds of evil things about you because of me.  Rejoice and be glad because you have a great reward in heaven!”

Isn’t Jesus a good God?

If you are seeking Truth I have a great resource to recommend to you.   This ministry has and still does answer a lot of questions I have about the Bible, especially when my Pastors didn’t know squat have an answer that made sense.  It is http://www.answersingenesis.org.  They make sense of the Bible and fill a much needed gap.  God bless Ken Ham and Answers In Genesis.

Jesus, you are a personable God.  Thank you that you take care of us in so many ways.  Thank you for Answers In Genesis.  This ministry is just another way of You sewing garments of Truth for us to wear because You love us sew much!  Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

