DAM SHAME!!!

Wrong spelling on purpose.  You’ll see why in a minute.

On the last and most important day of the festival, Jesus was standing [in the temple courtyard]. He said loudly, “Whoever is thirsty must come to me to drink.  As Scripture says, ‘Streams of living water will flow from deep within the person who believes in me.'”

I heard recently that at our baptism we are filled to capacity – no exceptions – with the Holy Spirit.

As I was meditating on this the Lord showed me just how backwards this world is.  That is why we see through a MIRROR darkly.  Everything is dark, distorted and backwards from what the original intent was before Adam sinned.  Jesus brings light and clarity and truth to life.

He showed me that shame, guilt, and pride (among other things) dam up the Holy Spirit that has been given to us by God.  Those things dam up the free-flowing working of God in our lives.  It is only in the pouring out of the Holy Spirit within us in acts of service to others that we become full and satisfied in Jesus, the Living Water.

In this world we fill to become full. 

In God’s world we empty to become full.

We are saved by grace through faith, and this not of ourselves, it is the gift of God, lest any man should boast.  We are saved by what Jesus did for us by emptying himself (his blood) on the cross as payment for our sin, and he frees us to serve Him by the Holy Spirit’s leading in our life to serve others, and it is in the being led by and by the serving that God shows that Jesus lives in us.  We experience satisfaction and fullness by being an open conduit of His forgiveness, grace, love, and mercy.

It is easy to experience shame when we share Jesus with others.  I can say I am not ashamed of the gospel….but that isn’t entirely true.  I am embarrassed sometimes when I share Jesus with others.  I have to master that sin that rears its ugly head in me by squashing it.  The easiest way I have found to do that is to deny myself.  I don’t even give myself time to think about a prompting once I receive it.  Just as water freely flows in a fountain I try to respond to the Holy Spirit’s prompting to just freely flow without trying to reason it out in my mind.  I am always fully satisfied when I do that.  If I don’t do that I struggle with conflict and doubt and spiritual warfare inside.

“Reason is the greatest enemy that faith has; it never comes to the aid of spiritual things, but — more frequently than not — struggles against the divine Word, treating with contempt all that emanates from God.  -Martin Luther

Heavenly Father, what a loving satisfying God we serve!  Grow me in my faith so that I become less and less ashamed of the gospel.   In Jesus name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

