Sunflower Seeds

I woke up this morning thinking about seeds.

When my son, Corey was a lot younger, I remember a moment in time when we were both in the kitchen.  I was eating some sunflower seeds when the Holy Spirit prompted my heart with an amazing parable that I will never forget.  It was a beautiful moment in time with My Lord Jesus reaching out through me to my son.  This is what happened.

I had a sunflower seed in the palm of my hand and I opened it up and showed it to Corey.  I asked him, “Is this seed alive or dead?”  He looked at the seed and then he looked at me with a puzzled expression for a moment, and then asked, “Dead?”  I looked at him and asked again, “Think about it, Cor, is this seed alive or dead?”  I was taken aback at the look of epiphany that came over his face!  I knew that Jesus had awoken something inside of him (a dormant seed?)as he pondered this parable.  We went on to have a lengthy discussion about seeds and planting them in the ground and what happens after that, and how Jesus used seeds to teach others about the Kingdom of Heaven.

I think the Lord used that moment more for my benefit than for Corey’s. It opened up my eyes to Him opening up the eyes and minds of others to understanding Him.  Kind of like a seed being planted splitting open in the darkness and bringing forth a new plant.

When the hour had come for the Son of Man to be glorified, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed.  But if it dies, it produces many seeds.  The man who loves his life will lose it, while the man who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life.”

Oh Jesus!  I look around me at the seeds that surround me, and I am amazed at your love!!!  It is springtime and even now the fields are ripe for the harvest, and still, there is much planting to be done.  Send us out into the fields, Lord, so that others may live eternally restored to You in Your verdant garden.  Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

